Home > Chinese, Food, Restaurants > Mama Chen’s Taiwanese Kitchen

Mama Chen’s Taiwanese Kitchen

For some reason, I feel more lost in a Taiwanese restaurant than in any other Asian restaurant.  I’m never sure of what to order and purposeful or not, I find that Taiwanese places are more prone to Chinese only menus.  It is not uncommon to see some special of the day written completely in Chinese.  In fact, I know that is what happens at the Tea Station.  It’s been better these days since my sister-in-law, Triple T, is Taiwanese, but if she’s not around, there is no one around who can translate, so it’s a shot in the dark.

Seeing as there are a fair number of Taiwanese places in the South Bay area, Pdho and I have ventured around.  One place, Mama Chen, is a small, randomly located little restaurant in Santa Clara.  We didn’t know what to order, so we started off of with what we know best… onion pancakes.  It’s hard to go wrong with deep-fried anything, but that fact aside, it was still pretty tasty. It’s a little bit thinner than the version at A&J Restaurant, which I think is another Taiwanese restaurant in Cupertino Village, but it still has the same layers (albeit fewer layers) of flaky dough instilled with a nice green onion flavor.

Another dish that sounded interesting was the Rice Cake with Pork and Vegetables.  The rice cake was pretty well cooked.  It was slightly doughy without being too chewy.  I kind of prefer it sliced thin like this as opposed to the cylindrical shape of the Korean version of rice cake, duk, because it’s easier to eat.  Although I liked the rice cake, I could have used a little more pork and vegetables in the dish.  It was a little too heavy on the carbs.

I was a little bit disappointed by this dish, because if there is one thing I constantly associate with Taiwanese food and drink (aside from my beloved Milk Green Tea), it’s the infamous Fried Pork Chop with rice.  I expected a deep-fried pork chop served on a bed of rice, but instead I ended up with a saucy grilled pork chop.  It was served with a boiled egg and some pickled mustard greens and vegetables which you commonly find in many Taiwanese rice plates.  Truthfully, I wasn’t disappointed in the actual taste of the pork chop. It was pretty well-flavored and quite tender to the chew.  I don’t think it needed the ground pork mixture on top, but it was fine.  I was just really hoping for some deep-fried pork chop!

Overall, the food was pretty decent and best part was the how very inexpensive the total check ended up being. I think it was around $15.  It would definitely be worth the return to explore some more Taiwanese dishes.

Mama Chen
5075 Stevens Creek Blvd #10
Santa Clara, CA 95051

PAFO Ratings for Mama Chen:
Price 1½ stars
Ambiance 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Categories: Chinese, Food, Restaurants
  1. sandy
    August 27, 2010 at 10:16

    i don’t know why but i, too, feel a little lost ordering tw food. there’s an a&j here in nova that we go to sometimes and while it’s ok, i always wonder if i’m ordering the right thing.

  2. tiffy
    August 27, 2010 at 10:20

    Oh boo…A&J way better for onion pancake and porkchop with rice. Those are my fave things to get there, and the spicy wontons. The rice cake at DTF is good, have you tried? By the way, we live 5 mins away from MB, I walk Penny and Maxie on the strand all the time. Give me a call next time you are down here!

  3. Lou
    August 28, 2010 at 06:56

    Thanks for the review. Have to admit I never been there but I too am still searching for an authentic Pork Chop rice up here when there are so many great ones down in SoCal. Lamenting that my fav in Milpitas which also served a mean stinky tofu is no longer around. If you ever need a couple to eat Taiwanese stuff with give us a call. BTW: ever go to Taste of Taiwan in Cupertino in the 99 Ranch Plaza? They have some pretty authentic stuff though their PCR isn’t all that great.

    • August 30, 2010 at 22:18

      I have never heard of Taste of Taiwan, and we’ve scoured that Cupertino Village plaza pretty well. There was one place called Southland Cafe that my Taiwanese friend liked, but it closed down and it’s a Japanese place now. I guess my search for PCR continues. Haha!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

