Home > Fun > Afternoon with the Orioles

Afternoon with the Orioles

Oriole Park at Camden Yards

Since ECost and I were stuck spending the weekend in Baltimore for work, we decided to take advantage of the close proximity to Camden Yards and went to watch the Baltimore Orioles play baseball against the Washington Nationals.

 

Babe Ruth Statue

From my understanding, this park represents the first of the modern day baseball parks and serves as a blueprint for the numerous parks that have been built in the last 15-20 years. I was quite fascinated with the actual baseball stadium, because it bore so much resemblance to AT&T Park with its brick walls and intimate seating. Similarly, instead of Willie Mays, there was a copper-colored metal statue of Babe Ruth, who I guess originally hailed from Baltimore, set up outside the stadium.

 

View from Our Seats

View of Other Side of the Stadium

Even though I am not the biggest baseball fan, I really enjoyed the afternoon.  Between the warm weather and eating hot dogs, chicken tenders and pretzels, it was big fun.  I was glad I went. So now with this visit, I can add Oriole Park in Baltimore to the list which includes Comerica Park in Detroit, Wrigley Field in Chicago, and AT&T Park in San Francisco. Funny how I’ve been to so many different ball parks in spite of baseball not even being one of my favorite spectator sports.  Haha!

 

Me in Front of the Game Board

Categories: Fun Tags: , , ,
  1. TE
    July 1, 2011 at 00:41

    This is absoultely awesome Nugget… Camden Yards was one of the inspirations for AT&T Park in SF, my favorite stadium I’ve been to. Camden Yards is one of the parks I’ve been wanting to visit for a long time. It blends old school with a modern feel. The backdrops are stunning. You’ve been to 3 pretty dope stadiums for not being a baseball fan (Wrigley… a classic).

    My goal is to make it every major league ballpark before I die. I’ve visited 15. Halfway there. I need to add this one to my list. I was wondering if you got to eat BOOG’s BBQ. It’s Boog Powell’s BBQ restaurant (former player), and is considered the BEST of baseball food.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

