Can’t Forget Kinkead’s

I’ve only gone to Washington DC on business trips, so I’ve tried a handful of restaurants. None of them stand out as much as Kinkead’s. A friend of a friend is actually a manager there so even though it’s always been expensed every time I’ve gone, he still manages to hook me up. All the food is pretty delicious as far as American cuisine goes, but the most truly memorable dish is the Wood-Grilled Squid with Creamy Polenta, Tomato Fondue and Pesto. This dish could very well be the best squid dish I’ve ever had. It’s soft, tender and so well flavored. The tomato, pesto and polenta go so well together and combined with the squid…. it truly just melts in your mouth. I love it! Those that know me will also be surprised that the Hazelnut Cake is also a can’t miss dish on my list. Never being much of a sweets person, it’s rare for me to react much to a dessert that isn’t sorbet or fruit, but this cake was fantastic.

The restaurant itself is actually owned by the brother of a former coworker of mine. Although I had never heard of it, this restaurant is quite famous and makes the top restaurants list consistently every year. It’s a simple place, nothing fancy yet exuding a lot of power due to the all the politicians coming from the Hill.

PAFO Ratings:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 1/2 stars
Overall rating 4 stars

Leave a Reply

