Musical Medley

I just came back from seeing Jersey Boys tonight. It was fantastic, in large part because the music was so upbeat and cheerful. The acoustics at the Curran Theatre kind of suck though, because it was really hard for me to hear any of the dialogue. Either that or I’m going deaf. There were so many good songs that I didn’t even realize were associated with Frankie Valli and the 4 Seasons. Aside from Sherry, Big Girls Don’t Cry, Walk Like a Man, Rag Doll, Oh What a Night and Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You, there were a bunch of other good songs that I can’t remember the names at this point. It was just very upbeat and fun. It reminded a little bit of Mamma Mia because of the pop music aspect, but I knew a lot more of the songs in Jersey Boys. Good stuff!

I also just saw Mary Poppins about two weeks ago when I was in NYC. It was one of my favorite movies as a kid, and I think it was pretty well adapted into a live musical. Some of the newer songs didn’t really jive with me, but I loved the usual suspects. It was good.

It makes me happy. I can’t explain why. As much as I treasure my time relaxing at home, I really do enjoy taking advantage of opportunities like this to get out and about. My friend and I were commenting on how SF’s Broadway district consists of just 3 theatres. So when the show ends, you see the street fill up with people just like it does in NYC. Unlike Broadway in NYC where the crowds of people are unending for blocks on end, the crowd dissipates pretty quickly once you turn the corner in SF. Hehe! It just continues to show that SF has everything that NYC does… just on a much smaller, smaller scale.

Leave a Reply

