Skiing in Utah

I think from the moment I met Peter, one of the first things he ever raved about was how great the skiing was in Park City, Utah. On and on about how many times he and his sister had gone. So obviously, the excitement was built up for this year’s trip over President’s Day weekend. 
The trip started with a very early morning flight out of SFO.  A huge group of my friends took the trip out as well, but we ended up staying in different cabins. We literally went straight from the airport to the slopes to take advantage of some Park City promotion that gave us a free lift ticket for the day. Our first day was at Deer Valley.  We had another day at Deer Valley and two other days at Canyons. It was a lot of fun, I have to admit. The snow was good, and the slopes were nice. I ended up skiing in the entire time. It’s been almost 10 years since I had been on skiis, but it was like riding a bike. Easy cheesy! 


That’s me in my red jacket making my way down the mountain. It really wasn’t too hard getting  my ski legs back. Although I have to say that despite my being a regular gym rat, I was still feeling pretty sore by the end of the day. Just goes to show how important it is to vary your workout to get all your muscles working. 

We met up with Pdho’s sister, Sdho, who flew in the day before. I don’t think I have ever met a pair of siblings that enjoyed skiing as much as these two. It’s kind of cute. 

The view from outside our cabin.  It snowed the night we arrived so we had fresh powder to ski on the next day. Nice!

My brother and his wife also joined us. Although my brother is an avid snow-boarder, she’s still a beginner. She made some pretty good strides on this trip though. 



Sdho’s friend, EG, was a pretty good skiier. He was going crazy fast down the slopes, but he was nice enough to wait for us slow pokes as well. Although you can’t see her, the girl on the far right in the picture above is actually the actress who plays the young Rousseau on the tv show, Lost. She happened to be an awesome skiier. I swear she was zooming down the mountain like Superman. It was impressive. 

It was a wonderful trip overall. Good fun, good snow, good friends and good family. =) Until next year….

Leave a Reply

