Ramen and Sushi, Yum!

Katana-Ya is a small little place near Union Square. There are some homeless people panhandling along the streets but what can you expect being just down the street from the Tenderloin. The fact that there was a line of people waiting outside suggested there was a chance it was going to be good. However, the fact that we had to wait for so long was a little annoying, especially when some homeless guy came over and kept encroaching on my personal space. He looked relatively clean and didn’t smell bad, and I really felt bad for his story…. But I gave him all my change. Thankfully it turned out to be very good… in spite of the 30+ min wait. I ordered the Shioyo Ramen. The broth was rich and tasty and the noodles had that al dente crunch. With such a healthy-sized portion, I was close to full on the ramen alone, but since my eyes are always hungrier than my stomach and I have to try the sushi everywhere I go, I also ordered the spicy tuna roll which turned out to be pretty good as well. All in all, a very good meal.

Katana-Ya
430 Geary St (at Mason St)
San Francisco, CA 94102

PAFO Ratings for Katana-Ya:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 4 stars

Leave a comment