SF Ballet’s World Premiere

on

I’m a novice when it comes to ballet, but I’m trying to expand my cultural horizons. I have gone to handful of ballet performances mostly when I was living in NYC, but I figured since Pdho seemed pretty open to going, I would take advantage of it while it lasts. =) 

Although I’ve heard of Swan Lake, I actually had no idea of the story and had limited familiarity with the music. Tchaikovsky has a signature sound. At least I think he does, because there were moments in the ballet that sounded very similar to the Nutcracker.  It’s a tragic romance about lovers who through trickery and magic cannot be together in life and in the end, they find the only way their love can last is in death. 
I liked this ballet as well. It’s very classical and traditional while still appealing with a familiar storyline.  More and more, I am learning to appreciate the ballet, and it makes me even happier to know I can find someone who is willing to explore it with me. =) 
Leave a Reply

