A Cut Above Most


We went to Wolfgang Puck’s Cut in Beverly Hills for my mom and sister’s birthdays.  It’s located in the heart of Rodeo Drive in the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons Hotel. So obviously, it’s a pretty chi chi type eatery, but the famous faces plastered all across the walls and menus can be a little distracting. I would prefer to see these famous people sitting in the dining room, but I doubt anyone famous would want to endure the gawkers during a busy weekend. 

We started by ordering a variety of the appetizers to pass around and share. I chose the bone marrow flan with mushroom marmalade. It was sinfully rich… so much so that I could not finish it on my own. One teaspoon of the flan probably sent my cholesterol through the roof, but it was totally worth it. 

The other appetizers included:
   Maple Glazed Pork Belly
   Blue Fin “Toro” Tuna Tartare with Togarashi Crisps and Tosa Soy
   Warm Veal Tongue

The veal tongue was a first for me, but it turned out to be surprisingly delightful. You can’t really go wrong with tuna tartare. I really love tuna tartare! The pork belly was also pretty good, but probably the least memorable of the appetizers. 
Each of us ordered a different steak so we could sample as much of the menu as we could:
   USDA Prime, Illinois Corn Fed Aged 21 Days – Bone In Rib Eye Steak 20 Oz
   USDA Prime, Nebraska Corn Fed Dry Aged 35 Days – Rib Eye Steak 16 OZ
   Japanese 100% Wagyu Beef from Kagoshima Prefecture
I ordered the American Wagyu / Angus “Kobe Style” rib eye. Although I ordered medium rare, it came out closer to medium, so I thought it was a little too dry. My sister-in-law ordered the sirloin cut of American Wagyu which tasted the best in terms of balancing the fattiness with the rest of the steak. The macaroni and cheese was a little too cheesy, but the peas and mushrooms made great side orders to round out the meal. 

All in all, it was a pretty good dinner with my family. I’m not sure the prices are warranted, especially for the Japanese Wagyu which hovered close to $160, but I’m always supportive of a nice meal every now and then.  🙂

PAFO Ratings:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

