Eating on the Wharf

As tourist visiting San Francisco, every To Do list seems to include “eating seafood along Fisherman’s Wharf.” Being a resident of San Francisco, I felt minimally interested to check this off my personal To Do list, but since my brother and sister-in-law were in town visiting, I decided to tag along and check it out. There are a number of restaurants to choose from that all seem to offer the same menu, and we eventually decided on Sabella and LaTorre. It’s a relatively non-descript place located behind a whole line of seafood stands, but what was strikingly noticeable was how all the waiters and bus staff were Asians, Filipino mostly.

The restaurant itself was filled with tourists, so I somehow did not expect much from the food.  The food turned out to be rather plain, nothing special.  I ordered the crab cakes and it was just okay… the crab didn’t taste especially fresh. It wasn’t bad. It just wasn’t that great either. However, I suppose that most tourists from the Midwest probably can’t tell the difference so that is who they are catering to for the most part.

Although the food is not memorable, I’d have to say the experience was. I can now say I’ve eaten seafood at Fisherman’s Wharf.

PAFO Ratings:
Price 2 ½ stars
Ambiance 1 ½ stars
Food 2 stars
Overall rating 2 stars

Leave a Reply

