I Heart Mac and Cheese

I don’t like cheese, not that I hate cheese, but simply put, I could do without it. Strangely enough, I have always liked macaroni and cheese. That Kraft in a box stuff, Yum! Go figure! So I was just salivating when I saw Hubert Keller win with the help of his shrimp macaroni and cheese on the first episode of Top Chef Masters. I got inspired by the cooking bug and went searching for recipes. Not only did I find his exact recipe, but I found a video clip of Fabio (from Top Chef Season 5) showing how to prepare it. The recipe is actually pretty simple:

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 3 large carrots, diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1/2 quart cream
  • 4 ounces half and half
  • 1 cup white mushroom, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cup Swiss cheese
  • 2 pounds prawns, diced
  • 1 pounds cooked pasta
  • 1 cup whipped cream
  • 5 tablespoons chopped parsley
  • 6 egg yolks
  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • Directions
    In a large pot, add butter, carrot, onion and sweat for 5 to 10 minutes. Add the cream, salt and pepper and simmer until it gets thicker (10 to 15 minutes). Add the mushroom and Swiss cheese, simmer for 5 minutes. Add the prawns and pasta and mix gently until very hot. Fold into the whipped cream the parsley and egg yolks. Season with salt.

    Transfer Mac & Cheese into bowl and cover lip with the whip cream mix.

    I decided to follow the recipe almost to a tee, but I don’t I used enough cheese, so it turned out more creamy than cheesey. I also found it strange that the recipe calls for swiss cheese, but Fabio used cheddar. I’ll have to try cheddar next time especially since that is what is traditionally used. Most of all, I think the recipe is a little too decadent with all the cream, half and half, butter and egg yolk, so I’m pretty sure I’ll adjust it a bit next time so it doesn’t turn out so oily. All in all, I thought it turned out pretty good, and here are some pictures to prove it. =)


    Leave a Reply

    