Cow Country and Gelato

on

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures at this dinner. It’s baby steps…. I started to bring my camera everywhere, but then I kept forgetting to pull it out. Although I’m getting better, this entry is sadly going to be a little light on visual appeal. The food was pretty good though and worthy of some words.

The best part of going to a Korean restaurant is that I rarely have to pick up the menu to order, because I’m usually with a Korean that takes care of everything. Hahaha! That being the case, I haven’t been to that many Korean restaurants in Los Angeles, which is supposed to have the best Korean food all around (in some cases better than Seoul from what I hear). Because I’m a relative novice regarding Korean cuisine (compared to other Asian cuisines), I’m still refining my taste buds…. because admittedly, Korean food is either spicy or meaty…. That’s about all I can say.

So with Pdho’s friends in town visiting, we ended up going to eat at Oo Kook which seemed like any other typical Korean restaurant in K Town. (It means Cow Country in Korean) For $59.99, you get 3 types of meat, a soup, a pancake and all the fixins. It actually seemed like a really good deal especially when I generally find Korean food to be pretty overpriced. Considering we had like 8 people, there was plenty of food to go around. The quality of the meat was very good. I think that was really what stood out. I can’t tell the difference between each of the different types of meat although the unmarinated beef tasted just as delicious as the marinated one. Another notable dish was the pancake. I always like the Hae Mul Pa Jun which is seafood pancake, but this place served a simpler version which was essentially the pancake without the seafood. I actually liked it a lot. Sometimes, they pack in the seafood that you don’t get much taste or flavor, but this one was very tasty. By end, I could eat no more…. but half of us decided to go have dessert at some place called Scoops.

One would never imagine that a place with over 800 reviews on Yelp would look so simple and dare I say “ghetto”, but this place totally validates the saying that you can never judge a book by it’s cover. It’s a tiny place on Heliotrope which is right off Melrose. There is rickety table just outside the store, one or two tables inside, a couch and that’s about it. The walls are plain except maybe for some aged party-type banner decorations. There’s absolutely no theme to help give the place some personality. However, after tasting the ice cream/gelato, you quickly realize that none of that is necessary as the product stands on its own.

Based on whatever logic, a single is 2 scoops, a double is 4 scoops, etc etc… One thing to also note is the selection can be limited as they make a certain amount for the day. So if you end up coming close to closing, then you don’t have much to choose from. Although it looked pretty pathetic, we were able to get some good flavors. For $2.75 for a single, we got a scoop of strawberry plum wine and mango guava. It tasted very good. Not too heavy, but not devoid of flavor or richness which can occur when attempting to cut caloric content. They have some odd flavors like Salty Chocolate, Green Tea White Chocolate, and Thai Tea Creme. One of the most unique sounding flavors is their most popular one, but one we didn’t get to try, Brown Bread. Not sure what’s in it, but it’s not bread. I’ll have to check it out next time.

So supposedly this place is run by some Korean guy who has been approached about franchise and expanding, but he’s refused. It’ll be interesting to see how long he’ll be able to hold out considering how wildly popular this place seems to be. I kind of see some similarities with Pinkberry, another Korean grown dessert spot, but it’s the polar opposite of Pinkberry in so many ways…. I kind of hope it stays that way, because despite it’s plain Mom and Pop type feel, as long as it’s churning out quality product, I suggest not messing with a good thing.

PAFO Ratings for Oo Kook:
Price 4 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

PAFO Ratings for Scoops:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 1 star
Food 4 ½ stars
Overall rating 4 stars

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

