Revisting Crack Wings

The best chicken wings in San Francisco has to be San Tung, hands down. They are so crispy and full of flavor, and they always come out of the kitchen piping hot. It’s great. It’s hard to truly describe, so I won’t even try. Needless to say, they have to top the list of anyone who wants to try the best foods that SF has to offer.

On this particular trip, a bunch of us were celebrating the Lakers 2009 Championship. Even though I haven’t been following basketball very closely these days, any reason to go to San Tung is a good reason for me. 🙂

The black bean sauce noodles aka “ja jiang mien” is another San Tung speciality. The noodles are freshly homemade, and the thick black-bean based sauce mixed with seafood and veggies make the dish. It’s delicious and I love it.

This was the first time I tried the peanut sauce noodles. It was kind of interesting tasting. It is similar to the ja jiang mien noodles except instead of black bean sauce, it’s peanut sauce. It was different, but I’m not sure I would order it again. I prefer the ja jiang mein more.

The sweet and sour pork was another good dish. I think the fact that it is deep fried and saucy really helps. The vegetables in this dish actually adds an extra tang to the dish that is somewhat unexpected but very tasty. The sweet and sour beef is similar and equally yummy.

I’m thinking that is really what San Tung’s speciality…. throw some meat in some hot oil and toss it around in some thick sauce. Ta da… half their menu. Hehe! I’ve actually had the dumplings and a few other dishes and they are all pretty good.

My only complaint on the restaurant is that there is always a wait. It’s annoying but not really surprising. The only way to avoid it is to try and beat the peak times. If you get there around 5pm, you’re good, but just an hour later, you’ll be waiting another hour…. and this includes the weekdays. I have gone many a times, and I definitely planning on going again. I am getting hungry just thinking about it.

PAFO Ratings for San Tung:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 ½ stars
Overall rating 4 ½ stars

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

