Prelude at La Mar

I have been wanting to try La Mar Cebicheria for some time now. It has gotten some good reviews and it has a wonderful location right on the Embarcadero with a beautiful view of the Bay. We headed over one day for happy hour. I felt compelled to get a workout in beforehand, and ended up getting there right as happy hour was ending. I was still able to get a drink and a few appetizers. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of everything we ordered so we’ll just make due with the pictures I did take. 🙂 
Considering the restaurant, obviously, we ordered the cebiche mixto and cebiche clasico. Both were relatively decent. I don’t think it was mind-blowingly good. In fact, I liked the ceviche from Limon more, but I still enjoyed both of La Mar’s.

As always, I’m always tempted to order calamari where ever I go so here is the chicharron de calamar. It was good, slightly above average. I really liked the addition of the onions and the tartar-like dipping sauce. It gave it a little bit more of a twist. 

The yucca fries were pretty good, and I would definitely order it again next time. There were a few other dishes that we shared including a couple different empanadas.  Those were just okay. Nothing very spectacular though. I can’t remember what I had to drink. It might have been a mojito of some sort, not too memorable.  
Overall, the place is pretty good for happy hour. There are some good appetizers and drinks for a reasonable price, and given it’s location, it is just a nice place to hang out. I think my expectations of the place left me a tad bit disappointed, but I’m thinking maybe I have to come back and have lunch or dinner to really give the restaurant a fair shot. So until next time, the PAFO ratings really only apply to happy hour.

PAFO Ratings for La Mar Cebicheria:
Price 4 stars
Ambiance 4 ½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

