PPQ Party

For a very long time, I would just write a lot of my blog entries without any pictorial support. I got a fair amount of criticism for that (louder from some more so than others), because my blog was so boring. As followers of my blog have probably noticed, it’s taken a swing in the other direction lately, but I decided to throw one of those entries in since the food at PPQ Dungeness Island is worth writing about even without any pictures.

I had dinner with a bunch of friends one week day evening and headed over to the Richmond District to meet up with them all for a crab feast. I had heard a bit about this place, mainly that it was just as good as Crustaceans but for a lot cheaper. That sounded good to me! We decided on the following menu which was $175.95 for 6, but I think we probably supplemented with a extra orders of the two crab dishes to feed the 8 of us.

  • Imperial Rolls
  • Papaya Salad with Beef
  • Roasted Crab
  • Peppercorn Crab
  • Five Spices Chicken
  • Steamed Shitake Sea Bass
  • Braised String Beans
  • House Garlic Noodles
  • Deep Fried Banana with Ice Cream
The imperial rolls and papaya salad were okay. They weren’t great, but there was something about them that was missing that tiny bit of Vietnamese flavor. I really enjoyed the five spices chicken and the shitake sea bass. I actually thought those were the two best dishes. The chicken was very well seasoned. The sea bass was moist and fatty like good sea bass should be, and the sauce was the soy-based type of sauce that Chinese people commonly use in their steamed fish preparations. It was great! I just kept pouring it over rice and eating it up. Ironically, these are two dishes not really considered a part of Vietnamese cuisine, at least not to my knowledge. The garlic noodles were also very good. I could have had a whole bowl to myself if it was considered polite in mixed company. Hehe! The strings beans was just okay. Now the two crabs dishes were pretty good. One was spicier than the other. I preferred the less spicier one which was the Roast Crab, but ultimately, I actually didn’t think either was as good as Crustaceans/Thanh Long… or even some of the Chinese-Vietnamese restaurants down in in the OC. I think it just lacked some of the flavor and rich seasoning (maybe it’s all the garlic) that you get at Crustaceans/Thanh Long. It wasn’t bad… but it wasn’t great either. One thing for sure though, this isn’t a Vietnamese restaurant and definitely felt like a Vietnamese restaurant run by Chinese people. Hence, the best dishes were the Chinese ones. Hehe! It’s not really surprising though as most restaurants in SF are like this.

PAFO Ratings for PPQ Dungeness Island:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 2 ½ stars
Food 3 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

