Sushi in the South Bay


So after much back and forth in terms of trying to get the name of the best sushi restaurant from V-siz’s friend, HY, we finally agreed to all meet for dinner at Kitsho and test out his claim. The restaurant was relatively empty when we arrived so we found a nice place at the sushi bar. V-siz and I drove all the way down to Cupertino after work on a weeknight to do our taste test, so you can imagine how hungry we were by the time we got there.


Unfortunately, it’s been awhile since I’ve eaten there and posted this entry, so I can’t remember all the fish!! 😦 Needless to say, almost all of the fish was very, very good. Very fresh tasting. There were quite a few interesting fishes or at least the way that he was preparing it was interesting. The sushi chef proceeded to tell us how each one came from some place around the world. He is an old Japanese man, so it was actually a little hard to understand him. Although, I’m not able to tell you exactly which fish were which, I have to say that I didn’t go wrong with any of them. In fact, I found the mackerel to be pretty delicious and that’s considering I’m not a big fan. As always the toro never fails. So fatty and so yummy!



It would be hard for to decide on which fish was the best tasting of the night, but I can definitely say that the two below were probably the most memorable and if anything, nicest looking, sashimi of the night. 🙂

Three types of tuna from least fatty to most fatty. Boy, were they good!


I believe this was the mackerel that I mentioned. It was great… light charring, some sauce and green onions… Just melts in your mouth kind of yummy!

Overall, this was a very good restaurant, and it made me think about how different an experience it is to sit at the sushi bar and do omakase.

PAFO Ratings for Kitsho:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 ½ stars
Overall rating 4 stars
Leave a Reply

