A Good Baoguette

I ate at a Michael Huynh’s restaurant once a long time ago. I can’t remember which one exactly but I think it was Bao 111. I think I remember it being okay, but it was probably more expensive than Vietnamese food should have been. I had heard about him through the years building his Bao empire all over NYC. Since the Vietnamese sandwich craze has gathered a mainstream following in the past few years, it made sense that he would finally tackle the banh mi.  Upon CK’s recommendation, I decided to try Baoguette down on St. Mark’s Place. As I’m walking down the street, I always like to take in what has and hasn’t changed since I moved away. I remembered that before Baoguette took over the space, BAMN was located there. It sold a bunch of snack foods and french fries a la rotating vending machine style. I remember going there and gathering up quarters to buy some corn dogs, fried macaroni and cheese and chicken nuggets. Hehe! Good memories!

Anyways, I ended up ordering the Baoguette which was pork terrine, pate, pulled pork and fresh herbs served on a french baguette. It’s funny, because aside from the pate, none of those ingredients actually sound like what goes into a Vietnamese sandwich. Just goes to show you what happens when you translate and pretty up the descriptions. Hehe! All that aside, it was quite authentic-tasting and tasted pretty darn good. The funny thing I noticed about Vietnamese sandwiches in NYC is how they all put this BBQ pork mixture in all the sandwiches here. It’s the reddish stuff in the picture. Even at the ghetto sandwich shop in Chinatown which sold sandwiches for $3, they used this stuff. It’s delicious, no doubt! But I’ve never seen a single sandwich shop in Little Saigon use it. Nevertheless, in spite of it’s $5 price tag, the baoguette tasted pretty delicious. It was a healthy portion as well, and I ended up only eating half of it.

I think this type of place really suits the NYU/East Village area. It’s simple, delicious, fast food at a reasonable price. I wouldn’t say it’s cheap considering you could probably find it cheaper elsewhere, but it’s not going to hurt the piggy bank and that is key when catering to a youngish/college crowd. I look forward to coming back and trying their other sandwiches. I’m admittedly curious about their pho as well… so we’ll just have to see.

Baoguette
37 St. Mark’s Place
(between 2nd Ave & 1st Ave)
New York, NY 10003

PAFO Ratings for Baoguette:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

