Momofuko Next Door

Connected to Ssam Bar through a small hallway in the back of the restaurant is David Chang’s bakery, Milk Bar. We were pretty full after finishing brunch/lunch that I really wasn’t looking forward to anything else for dessert.

Nothing seemed really appealing to me, although the menu was quite interesting. There were some different sounding flavors all over the place like cereal milk soft serve, candy bar pie, and banana green curry bread. Being as full as I was, I was not the least bit tempted to try these exotic creations.

I just walked around with no intention of getting anything while Pdho took pictures of everything. Then after trying MK’s cookie, I was piqued to buy a few to share with everyone. We ended up getting 1 or 2 of each of the 4 cookies on the menu. The two best ones by far were the Cornflake Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookie and the Compost Cookie, which by the way, are both chocolate chip-based type cookies. The Compost Cookie was a mix of pretzels, potato chips, coffee, oats, butterscotch, and chocolate chips. It sounds like a mess of ingredients, but it tasted delicious!!! The crunch of different ingredients like pretzels and potato chips really added layers of flavor and textures to the cookie. Admittedly, it was hard to distinguish it from the Cornflake Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookie, because this cookie had the cornflakes that added a nice crunch. I really liked both of them. My only complaint is probably the fact that all the cookies were so oily! I think it is all the butter and other fatty ingredients, so I did feel a little bit guilty after eating one.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to try the other cookies, because we lost them along the way. Nevertheless, the two cookies I tried were good albeit a little pricey. I think they were $3 each. However, the reviews for the other treats have been pretty positive, so next time I come to NYC, I’ll definitely be coming back.

PAFO Ratings for Milk Bar:

Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lynn says:

    you're supposed to try the crack pie! addictive like crack!

  2. jennee says:

    there is a lot of interesting stuff there, but i only had so much room after eating at ssam bar. crack pie sounds super sweet though.

Leave a Reply

