NYC’s Newest Park

I had been hearing about the High Line for a long time even back when I was living in NYC. After all the arguing and whatever was going to delay the project, it finally opened up earlier this year in June. The High Line was originally built as a train track back in the 1930’s and transported freight trains from Gansevoort Street in the Meatpacking District to 34th Street, between 10th & 11th Avenues. It fell into disrepair for a long time until it recently reopened as a public park. They have only opened Section 1 which runs from Gansevoort to 20th St, but eventually the elevated park will run 1 1/2 miles along the West side.

I meant to come and check out every time I was back in NYC earlier this year, but I never got around to it until this trip. It wasn’t hard, but I convinced everyone to ignore the sprinkling rain and walk over after lunch.

Although, it was a gloomy day, it didn’t dim my enthusiasm. It’s not every day that you see something like the High Line…. in the middle of all the hustle bustle, you have a little patch of vegetation and nature elevated above it all (but not to towering heights of a sky scraper) that makes you forget (if only for 30 seconds) that you’re in the middle of the city. Hehe! I thought it was cool!

You can actually still see remnants of the track along the path. They even placed wooden lounge chairs on the tracks so you can slide them along the track. What I also found kind of interesting was the fact that they didn’t really “clean it up” like you would expect. I’m not sure if it was on purpose, but a lot of the plants and shrubbery had a “where the wild things grow” look to it all. It was different, but I think it fits with the whole vibe of Meatpacking.

Here are a few of us: Pdho, me, CK and MK.
SC and me.
Pdho and me.
Leave a Reply

