European Vacation

For the next 11 or so days, I’ll be heading on vacation. Since I’m already in New York City, it made sense to keep flying East and take a trip to Europe. The plan is to fly from New York City to London. I’ve been to London before, and although it has a certain charm, I actually think it’s the most American European city. It reminds me a lot of New York City in many ways, so I don’t think it’s worth spending too much time there. We’ll just spend one day in London before taking an intercontinental flight to Pisa, Italy.

I’ll only be in Pisa long enough to wait for the next train to Cinque Terre, specifically Monterosso al Mare. After a night in Monterosso, I’ll get up bright and early to start the 5 hr hike across Cinque Terre and visit the other four villages, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore. I’m a little anxious about the distance and duration, but I figure that I’m in the best shape to even try it.

By the end of the day, I’ll end up taking a train to Florence where I plan to stay two nights. I have been to Florence before, so I’m really planning on using Florence as a base to explore Tuscany. I’ll probably still check out the city though, because there is just so many interesting sites worth checking out.
The next day, I’ll visit Siena for the day. The plan is to rent a scooter to ride around the Tuscan countryside. I’m looking forward to riding under the Tuscan sun. It should be a lot of fun even though I have no idea how to ride a scooter. All part of the adventure, I suppose.
The following day in Florence, I’ll walk through the city to check out a few sites such as the top of the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio, I doubt I’ll have time to see the Uffizi or even go inside the Academia to check out David, but at least I’ll see the copy of David in the Palazzo Vecchio.

From Florence, I’ll be taking another train to Rome where I want to visit a whole list of places including the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter’s Basilica, the Colosseum, Forum and other various site around the city for two days and two nights. I’m excited to see Rome since there is so many famous things I had heard about.
After Rome, I’ll take another train down to Naples where I’ll make a bee line from the train station to the port. I heard Naples is a dump of a town and filled with thieves and poverty… hence the travel straight through the city so I can take a ferry to Sorrento.
Sorrento is going to serve as my base so I can explore the Amalfi Coast. I have been told that the bus is the easiest and most convenient way to visit the individual towns, Amalfi, Ravello and Positano. However, the ferry boat seems like a fun way to travel and take some pictures of the coast. Maybe I’ll do both.

After two nights in Sorrento, I’ll take a flight from Naples to Paris. Although it’s been a few years since I’ve been back to Paris, I’m hoping to not only practice my French but to also revisit the city’s sites via Segway. Yes, you read me write. I’ve seen these tours in San Francisco, and just riding the Segway looks so fun. I figured if I’m going to tour a city, it might as well be one of the most beautiful cities in theworld like Paris. Even though I have been to Paris many times, I always look forward to visiting the city again. I just love Paris.

After two days in Paris, I’ll take a train back to London so I can fly back home. I won’t have much time to see London aside from having one meal.

It sounds like a lot, I know. It’s a packed itinerary, but I’m so excited. There is going to be so much to see, do and eat. I plan on filling my tummy with lots of yummy yummy! Yeah!!!!
Leave a Reply

