Indian Food in London

The British have never been known for culinary greatness. In fact, the most appetizing thing I associate with them are fish and chips. Haha! Something about shepherd’s pie, bangers, mash, and blood sausage just don’t ring my bell. Reputation aside, I have often heard that London has great Indian food. So that’s what we ended up having when we met up with Pdho’s family in London. It is a restaurant in Bayswater called Khan’s.

We started off with some chicken samosas which were served with quartet condiments including a mango chutney, a mint sauce, another non-descript spicy thing, and onion salad. The samosa is very different from any that I’ve had in the States. The skin was lighter and thinner as opposed to the thicker, starchier type of skin that I seem to find at home. I would liken Khan’s version to be more like fried rice paper almost like egg roll skin that is wrapped multiple times around a filling of meat and spices. It wasn’t bad.
Pdho’s cousin ordered everything, so I’m not quite sure of what everything was. I just ate it all rather non-discriminantly. I think this was a lamb kebab of some sort, and I didn’t care for it too much.
The grilled chicken was a little bit too dry for my tastes. The seasonings and flavor was not too bad, and it had a nice grilled kebaby touch. But if there is one thing I can’t stand, it’s dry white meat chicken. Blah!

I am a big lover of rice. It’s my starch du jour after noodles/pasta. Hehe! I don’t often have basmati rice, but when I do, it’s decent. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed in what they served us, because the rice was a little too hard… like it wasn’t full cooked or something. It wasn’t a big loss though, because we proceeded to have a bunch of saucy dishes (curry this and tikka masala that) so I just doused it all over the rice, and it all tasted good. 🙂

I’m not a big fan of sag paneer which is cottage cheese mixed in yogurt and a variety of spices and baked, but Pdho loves this stuff. I thought it was just okay as far as paneer goes.
This was some kind of prawn curry. I really liked this dish probably the best. The prawns were a nice size, not only plump but juicy, and well-cooked, and the sauce went so well with the dry rice. This was probably my favorite dish.
I think this was the lamb dish. After eating the lamb kebab, I really wasn’t keen on even trying this. I think it was across the table anyways, so I didn’t bother to reach across and get some for myself. I think Pdho had some, and he wasn’t too impressed either.
The chicken masala was good. The chicken itself was a teeny bit dry, but the sauce helped to cover it up a little bit more. Again, it went great with the rice.
All in all, the dinner was good, but I don’t think it was that great, especially since London is supposed to have great Indian food. It was a good meal and I was pretty full in the end, so I can’t complain too much. 🙂

PAFO Ratings for Khan’s:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

