Last Dinner in Firenze

on
After our day in Siena, we took the bus back to Florence and went in search of dinner. Unfortunately, I can’t recall the name of this restaurant we ended up going to, but it was a Rick Steve’s recommended place so we figured we couldn’t go wrong.
It was a very beautiful night out, so we took advantage of their outdoor seating. Unfortunately, like most everything in Europe, the tables and seats were pretty small and there wasn’t much space on the patio. That left me bumping butts with the guy/girl behind me. Considering I am not a big person, I can only imagine how difficult it would be for an average American to sit in the tiny backless chair at a cramped 2×2 table. Nevertheless, I was hungry and all that was a minimal inconvenience as I focused more on the food.

We ordered the Tortelli di Patate con Ragu Toscano which was essentially potato ravioli with meat sauce. It was actually really good. The ravioli was a twist on the typical cheese filled version that you would normally eat. It had the same soft consistency as cheese but a little starchier, so the meat sauce complemented it even better.

Next up was the Caprese con Bufaline e Pomodori which is typical Italian appetizer known as a salad of mozzarella and tomatoes. I have to comment again on how excellent the tomatoes are. I really love them! However, the surprising thing is how delicious I found the mozzarella to be. I don’t like cheese, as I have probably mentioned quite often to those avid readers of my blog, but this mozzarella tasted very fresh. It was very soft, almost fluffy, and it had a nice flavor that went very well with the tomatoes. I liked this dish a lot!
Eggplant parmigiana was okay. Although the picture looks well lit here, it was actually quite dark, so I couldn’t really tell what I was eating. I took a small bite just to try it, and I liked it. It was cheesy, tomatoey, and eggplanty. Not bad overall.
The last dish was Arrosto di Manzo con Patate which means Meatballs and Potatoes. The meatballs were very good. The potatoes were just okay. I thought they were a little bit undercooked.
Overall, the restaurant is pretty good, and we were fully fed and content with our meal in the end…. even despite the butt bumping. 🙂

PAFO Ratings:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 2 ½ stars
Food 3 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

