The Cut Cabbage

Our last Parisian dinner was at a place my friend recommended called Le Coupe Chou which means “cut cabbage” in French. It looks like charming little place from the outside, and when you walk in, it feels like the restaurant was built inside some old caves which is quite possible considering the pieces of rock and stone jutting out from the walls at some point. There is also a very romantic feel to the restaurant with the french music playing in the background and at least in the room we sat, there was very low lighting with only the the candles on our tables to light the room.

The set menu offered some traditional french choices across 3 courses for 28.5 Euros, so we excitedly went about ordering from the selection.

The terrine was marbled with spiced poultry and foie gras and served with a fruit chutney on the side. I really liked it. The gelatinous consistency of the poultry pieces and foie gras was well-flavored and tasty. I ate half the basket of bread alone with this dish.
Although the salmon fillets was well-prepared, and I really liked it. In fact, I love salmon especially when it is prepared like this, but I didn’t find it any better than other preparations I’ve had. It was served with hazelnut oil and lemon creme fraiche which was good…. it just wasn’t that different.
One of the main courses was Boeuf Bourguignon served with Gnocchi, Mushrooms and Smoked Duck Dices. This was a pretty good dish. The beef was tender and the broth was rich in red wine. I really didn’t like the gnocchi though. It was a little too starchy for my liking. I don’t think it went with the rest of the ingredients.
The other main course was Duck Confit with a side of Roasted Potatoes. I didn’t realize until this time that the duck is so tenderly cooked that the best way to eat it is to pull it entirely off the bone and cut it up into pieces. It was pretty good, but I like duck.
Both desserts were very good, but I definitely thought the one below was better than the one above. The one below was a Tiramisu with Cacao and Bananas, lightly perfumed with cinnamon, and served in a glass. I was not expecting to like it because I usually find the rum in tiramisu too strong for my liking and when you decide to add a banana flavor to it, I just didn’t think I was going to like it. Surprisingly enough, I loved it. Although the other dessert, a Vanilla Creme Brulee, was good. It wasn’t necessarily great or different than other ones I’ve had.
Overall, I really liked the restaurant for it’s strong execution of some very traditional French dishes. The appetizers and desserts were probably the best part of the meal as I found the entrees themselves to be solid, but not amazing. I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for some quality French food.

PAFO Ratings for Le Coupe Chou:
Price 3 stars
Ambiance 3 ½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

