Running Across the Golden Gate

Let’s be honest… I hate running. I remember from way back in elementary school when they would make you run around the track, I would try to find someway to get out of it. Then in high school we had to run 1 mile to pass some annual physical test and it would take me like 30 minutes or something. I was slow and lazy. It’s always been the distance thing that I can’t stand, because as I’ve gotten older, I’ve become rather quick. I think it has more to do with being small and compact so it looks like I am running faster than you would think. Since I’m below the average person’s eye level, no one can really see me. Hehe! I also think that I abhor running so much that I run faster so that I can get it over with as soon as possible. However, the longer the distance, the quicker I end up running out of gas. I just don’t have the stamina, so it really has never been my choice of physical activity.

However, over the past year or so, I’ve somehow been tricked into running more…. okay, let’s call it as it is…. I’ve been forced to pick it up despite all my protests and whining. I’m not quite sure how to explain what happened, but I’m sure it has something to do with Pdho’s cunning ways. I’ve begrudgingly given in though, because as I’m sure we all know, our metabolism just continues to decline into the depths of the Mariana Trench as we age… and my readers have obviously seen the focus of my blog. It’s a wonder how I haven’t fattened up to the size of a blimp, especially considering I’m not blessed with the stick skinny genes commonly associated with the Asianrace. Nevertheless, even before Pdho tricked me, I thought I was in okay shape for someone my age. I go regularly to the gym. I work out hard. I probably am in the best shape since high school when I played tennis everyday.

I started to hear about a lot of my friends training and running for half-marathons and marathons. They were all around my age and some even older, so I figured that if they could all do it, then I could do it too. Off I went in search for a half-marathon to run. Living in San Francisco, the most obvious one was the Nike Women’s Marathon in October but the whole thing withthe lottery and ultimately, timing conflicts took it out of the running. Eventually I came up with the US Half Marathon which is only two weeks after Nike and also in San Francisco. It’s a completely different course and the highlight of the run is the opportunity to run across the Golden Gate Bridge.

Although I took a longer period of time to train, I really needed that time to build the endurance and stamina to run 10 miles which was the longest I ran before the day of the marathon. I have to say that the US Half itself ended up being okay as I finished it in just over 2 1/2 hours. I can’t believe I actuallyran that far and for that long. I really can’t. I actually felt pretty good at the end of the marathon, but I was in absolute pain a couple of hours later.

Nevertheless, it was a HUGE accomplishment for me. I can’t believe I did it, and I have to admit that in the end, it wasn’t as bad I thought it was going to be…. I have to hand it to Pdho. I really owe it all to him. Even though it was my idea to run a half marathon, I wouldn’t have made it through without him pushing me…. and boy did he push.  I also have to thank him since the pictures capturing the whole experience are all from him. Since we were running at a slower pace than he was used to, he had the energy and breath to just snap pictures all along the course.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

