Catfish and Turkey Wings


After a whole bunch of praise and swirl of discussion amongst my co-workers, I finally got a chance to try House of Catfish and Ribs when we ordered it for one of our staff meetings. It was actually a really impressive spread. Not only were there two kinds of fried fish, catfish and snapper, but we had turkey wings and a litany of side orders including collards greens, hush puppies, sweet potatoes, and my all-time favorite macaroni and cheese… and to top it all off, we had two sweet potato pies. All this food for the eight of us! Amazing, I know!

Although I gave both fishes a try, I definitely think the snapper tasted better than the catfish. Since catfish is a bottom-feeding fish, it doesn’t seem to have as clean of a taste as other fishes. Don’t get me wrong, there are some catfish preparations that are very, very good… I just don’t think this was one of them. I also think that the snapper being a firmer white fish holds up better when deep-frying it. There was one bottle of tartar sauce to share, and I’m pretty sure it was almost gone by the end of lunch.

The turkey wings were interesting. I have never, ever had turkey wings in my life. In fact, I didn’t know they were even edible although I should probably know better. I guess it’s quite popular at the Asian markets. Anyways, these wings were pretty big. I tried one and it was kind of interesting. They don’t seem to have much meat, but whatever was in the wing had a funny texture…. kind of soft and fatty. Honestly, it was too weird tasting, and I didn’t like it very much.

I didn’t really try the sweet potatoes, because it’s really not my thing but I took a couple helpings of the macaroni and cheese just because I like macaroni and cheese. It wasn’t the best I’ve ever had, but it was good enough. The collard greens and hush puppies were new to me. I don’t think I have ever really had either before. However, I did find the collard greens to be much better than I thought. After my co-worker mentioned it, I realized that the mustard greens are what you find in this Chinese dish that is made with stewed fatty pork and mustard greens. It had a kind of sweet yet subtly bitter taste, but I actually ended up going back for seconds. The hush puppies were okay. They were a little bit dry, but I guess you can’t expect anything else from deep-fried cornmeal. Hehe!

Although I have never been a big fan of sweet potato pie, I ignored my bulging waistline and get a small sliver to try. Actually, I had never even heard of sweet potato pie until today, but with EVERYONE showering compliments on the pie, my curiosity was definitely piqued. It was actually very good, surprisingly so. It reminded me of pumpkin pie which is another dessert that I don’t like too much, but this tasted a little sweeter. There was also a very distinct cinnamon flavor. I think they might have been a little too heavy-handed when it came to the cinnamon, but it wasn’t too bad. I still liked it much more than I thought I would.

It was a pretty good lunch overall. I don’t eat Southern food too often, so it was a nice change of pace. The best dishes were probably the snapper, collard greens and sweet potato pie, but the hush puppies and macaroni cheese were okay.

Leave a Reply

