Hot Dogs in Hollywood

We arrived in Las Vegas earlier than scheduled, but it was way too early. In highsight, I’m not sure it was the best idea to take a 6am flight, but I was all about getting the cheapest ticket for the maximal time in Vegas. Although we tried to check in, it was still too early so we ended up walking around the Miracle Mile Shops until my brother, sister-in-law, sister and her bf arrived. I was so hungry that by the time they did arrive and someone suggested Pink’s Hot Dogs, I was ready to go. It was a long time ago when I had last gone to Pink’s after a night of clubbing. Although I recall it being good, the memories are kind of blurry, so I was curious to try it again.

With the exception of Dumpling Man, my sister’s bf, all of us ended up ordering a couple of the same hot dogs and an order of french fries, chile fries, and onion rings to share. Dumpling Man isn’t a fan of the fatty foods maybe, so he ended up getting something from the Earl of Sandwich.

We had an order of regular french fries and an order of chili fries. Although the regular french fries were pretty good in terms of crunch and crispiness, it was a little too salty. The chili fries weren’t much better, because the chili was just so heavy. Although it’s kind of gross, both my sister and Pdho noted that it looked like someone took a dump on the french fries. Yuck, I know! It didn’t taste that bad. It was okay, but I really don’t like chili fries in general. They are just so heavy-tasting and end up making the fries all soggy.

The onion rings were probably the best of the sides. My sister didn’t seem to like it too much, but everyone else, myself included liked them just fine. The rings were made with big pieces of onion and beer-battered. My only complaint would be that they were rather oily, so I couldn’t have too many before feeling a little sick in my tummy. However, you can’t expect anything but, since it is deep-fried in oil.

The Planet Hollywood Dog was a polish sausage covered in mushrooms, onions, and bacon. It was pretty darn good. The polish sausage was juicy, and the toppings were good, but I”m not sure they went well together. I think there was just too much going on. Too many different flavors and textures. Soft mushrooms, crispy bacon, sweet onions, salty sausage. It was a little overwhelming, more than anything. I still liked it better than the other hot dog that I ordered.

I ordered the Bacon Chili Cheese Dog without the chili cheese. I didn’t realize that the regular hot dog was going to be such a tiny, skinny little piece of processed meat. If I had known, I definitely would have switched it out for the polish sausage. I think given the size of the dog, the piled high toppings just dwarfed the hot dog even more. In the end, all I really seemded to taste was bread, onions and mustard. Just goes to show… size sometimes DOES MATTER! 🙂

Overall, Pinks is okay. It probably doesn’t justify the $5-8 price tag for one specialty hot dog, but I guess that goes to show how branding and hype, especially in Las Vegas can really help a restaurant go a long way. The space itself is really small aside from some outdoor seating on the patio which didn’t make sense especially considering how FREEZING it was that day. I doubt I’ll go back again. So at least now I’ll be sure to remember that I didn’t think it was that good and definitely not worth a return trip.

PAFO Ratings for Pink’s:
Price 3 ½ stars
Ambiance 2 stars
Food 2 ½ stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

