Not Playing My Tune

Admittedly, I don’t know much about Fiddler on the Roof, aside from it being a classic old-time musical.  I had no idea what the story was even about, but when I heard that it was coming to town with Harvey Fierstein heading up the cast, I thought it would be fun to check out.  I’m still amazed at how expensive the tickets for these musicals are especially since it’s not even New York City, but luckily, I found a discount for $50 orchestra seats. It was a Friday evening show, so it wasn’t the easiest in terms of timing since people had to come from work. In fact, a few of my friends missed the beginning of the show… but truthfully, I don’t think they missed too much.

The story was about a very Jewish family living  in pre-WWI Russia, circa early 1900.  Much of the story revolves around the idea of matchmaking and marrying off the daughters of the local milk man.  Honestly, the story was so slow and rather uninteresting that I can’t recall many of the details of the musical.  Although I recognized a few classic Broadway hits, I was thoroughly disappointed by the quality of singing in the show.  It could have been due to bad acoustics, but I really had a hard time understanding anything that was being sung, especially from Harvey Fierstein.  I don’t really know him to be a singer. In fact, I think the best place that I remember him from was playing the gay uncle in Mrs. Doubtfire. However, I’m pretty sure he’s found some fame on Broadway. I think he’s even won a Tony Award or two.  Nevertheless, his voice was so raspy and aged that none of the songs sounded pleasant to the ears. It made it even more frustrating, because when he would talk, I could barely understand what he was saying.

Sadly, I fell asleep in the last 15 minutes of the show. Obviously, I was tired, but the show really could not hold my interest and I just gave up in the end.  The reviews seemed mixed across the group. Some of my friends seemed to like it a lot, but there were others that found it equally as boring as I did. Unfortunately, I was more than a little bummed, but the hard part was having to hear Pdho complain about how bad it was and what a waste of money he thought it was. I felt so bad.  Next time, I’ll have to be a little more careful about which shows I choose.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

