Poo Poo for Peter Pan

I was looking forward to seeing the British production of Peter Pan ever since I heard they were building some state of the art CGI theater tent in Ferry Park across from the Embarcadero.  It was a relatively familiar story and it sounded like it was going to be something a little bit different from the other theater shows and musicals.

I decided to buy tickets for a preview show and gathered up some friends to go check it out.  I was pretty disappointed by Fiddler on the Roof, so I figured that it couldn’t really get any worse. Fortunately, it turned out to be better…. but unfortunately, it wasn’t really what I would call good either. I don’t know if it was our seats or if the cast was still getting into the groove, but the story was moving really slow and it never seemed to pick up. Although it was a circular stage, most of the dialogue still seemed to be directed in one direction… away from us, so combined with their British accents, it was hard to understand a lot of what they were saying.

There were some interesting elements, like the use of the puppets and how animated and life-like their movements were. The 360 degree CGI tent top was not as cool as I thought it was going to be. I thought I would feel more integrated into the scenery which was being projected, but in actuality, it still felt like a big movie screen.

By the end, I felt bummed. Some of the guys even pulled out their iPhones midway through, because they were so bored. It was still an interesting experiencing, but I guess I’m glad I bought slightly cheaper tickets.  It definitely wasn’t worth the full price. Generally speaking, I just get excited when these kind of things come to town, especially when they are located close by. It is unfortunate that sometimes these productions just aren’t very good. I guess they can’t all be Cirque du Soleil shows.

Leave a Reply

