Chicken Never Looked So Good

One of the few restaurants that I enjoy going back again and again is San Tung in the Inner Sunset.  I also chuckle about the evolution of my entries on San Tung, because my first entry was a short review, and then I got more sophisticated and the second entry had some pictures detailing my visit. Unfortunately, I lacked the presence of mind at that time to remember to take the pictures BEFORE diving in, so as some people have noted, the pictures of the food do not look very good.  On my most recent visit with Pdho and TUmmy, Pdho decided I needed better pictures so now for my most recent entry, I’m better equipped to highlight the food in all its glory.

Steamed Pork Dumplings
Original Dry Fried Chicken aka "Crack Chicken Wings"
Black Bean Sauce Noodles aka "Ja Jiang Mien"
Sweet and Sour Beef

Overall, everything is good. I absolutely love the chicken wings and ja jiang mien, but I doubt you can wrong on with anything on the menu though. I would like to try other things, but it’s hard because neither myself nor Pdho are willing to give up anything currently ordered to try something new…. so either we roll out of the restaurants like oompa loompas or take it home for leftovers. The best solution is to find more people who will make the trek for chicken wings. I think TUmmy is sucked in for the ja jiang mien. In spite of the sucky weather in the Sunset (ironic name for this part of town, isn’t it?), I would endure the gloomy cold and long wait (although I do come early to minimize the length of my wait) to eat here again and again, so who else wants to join?  =)

San Tung
1031 Irving St
(between 11th Ave & 12th Ave)
San Francisco, CA 94122

PAFO Ratings for San Tung:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 ½ stars
Overall rating 4 ½ stars

Leave a Reply

