Deep-Dish Pizza from Patxi’s

With Pdho’s friend, JFuji in town, we got together with N-Squared for dinner at Patxi’s (pronounced PAH-cheese) in Palo Alto.  TUmmy kept raving about the pizza after her first visit to the SF location, so it was top of mind.  I figured that TUmmy and the 483 other Yelpers knew what they were talking about, so when I found out there was a Palo Alto location, I figured it would be good to try. It’s located just off of University Ave in Downtown Palo Alto, so it has a good location to help bring in foot traffic. We arrived relatively early for a Friday evening but still had to wait like 30 minutes. Although the place looked big, in actuality, it was just one level, but that one level was packed full.  It’s definitely a popular place, because a decent crowd started to form by the time we were seated.

We started off with the Caesar Salad which came topped with slices of shaved parmesan cheese, croutons, and anchovies.  It was pretty good for a caesar salad… not too heavy on the dressing, not too cheesy on the flavor, and just enough crunch from the croutons.  I stayed away from the anchovies and let Pdho eat them all.

The Favorite Pizza has pepperoni, mushrooms, and black olives.  Ironically, this was my least favorite pizza of the night mainly because I am not a big fan of olives.  Granted, I managed to picked most of them off, but the lingering flavor of olives didn’t sit as well on the taste buds. The pepperoni in the pizza filling was notably very good though.

The Special Pizza was my favorite of the night. It was filled with sausage, mushrooms, onions, and green peppers.  I really liked the mix of all the ingredients.  It’s usually what you get in a combination pizza, but the deep-dish pie crust really helped to balance out the richness and cheesiness of the ingredients.  The pizza crust was noticeably fragrant…. I think it must have been the good amount of yeast that was used to help elevate the pizza dough.

Overall, the pizza is pretty good, and that says a lot considering I’m really NOT a pizza fan. People always seem stunned and stare at me with dropped jaw every time I tell them this.  It’s not that I dislike pizza. I can usually eat it.  I just really don’t prefer it and I rarely suggest going to eat it.  Nevertheless, I enjoyed the deep-dish style pizza from Patxi’s.  Many people might question a comparison to Zachary’s which seems to reign supreme in the East Bay.  I haven’t been since college, so another trip to Zachary’s is warranted in order to make a fair comparison, but until then, I think Patxi’s is worth a try.

Patxi’s Palo Alto
441 Emerson St
Palo Alto, CA 94301

PAFO Ratings for Patxi’s Palo Alto:
Price 3 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

