Not Really Pho Me

Having tried Pho Little Saigon before, I swore to myself that I would not come back again.  I ordered Pho Dac Biet or something, and it just didn’t taste very good.  It was kind of off, not in a disgusting way, but it just didn’t taste very good.  Admittedly, I was hesitant to return and considering how particular Pdho can be about Vietnamese food, I was even more surprised that he would even suggest it… but he did.  Turns out that Pdho’s friend, who happens to be Vietnamese, told him that the Bun Bo Hue was pretty decent at Pho Little Saigon, so that made Pdho curious.

Bun Bo Hue

Bun Bo Hue, simply translated means Spicy Beef Noodle Soup, is essentially Central Vietnam’s (Hue being the major city in Central Vietnam) equivalent of Pho.  Although the broth tasted pretty good, I don’t think it was very authentic. I’m not sure what it was about the flavors, but somehow it lacked the beefy richness that normally gets infused in the soup.  It had the usual collection of different cuts of beef and then strangely had a slices of steamed pork patties.  Typically, they have pig’s feet in this broth, but I suppose the steamed pork patties were intended to be the cheap man’s version.  Pdho liked it, but I just thought it was okay.

Com Dac Biet

I ordered the Special Rice Plate mainly because I like the Fried Shrimp Cake.  Truthfully, I wasn’t really feeling this dish either.  The pork chop didn’t have the grilled taste, and they added Chinese sausages which is totally not right.  It was just okay.

All in all, the food isn’t bad. It’s actually all okay…. It just lacks the true taste of really authentic Vietnamese food.  So I wouldn’t make an effort to ever go there, but if I have a craving and feeling lazy, I could probably be convinced to go eat there again…. if I was REALLY hungry and REALLY didn’t want to drive very far.

Pho Little Saigon
855 E. Homestead Rd.
Sunnyvale, CA 94087

PAFO Ratings for Pho Little Saigon:
Price 1½ stars
Ambiance 2 stars
Food 2½ stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

