Genentech Gives Back

Main Concert Stage

I’ve been lucky enough to attend a number of different concerts through over the years thanks to work….  Admittedly, it’s been a great perk that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed.  My first year, I got to see Jay Leno and Faith Hill in Las Vegas.  The second year got even better with Matchbox 20 in San Diego, but last year was probably the best of the bunch with Maroon 5.  I also got to see Third Eye Blind one year at a launch meeting, but I didn’t get to take any pictures.

Unfortunately, I missed out on Bon Jovi earlier this year which bummed me out more than you could imagine…. but I was really excited about the announcement that we would get to attend a Benefit concert at AT&T Park (in lieu of the Holiday Party.)  There were a whole bunch of charity and volunteering events all week that led up to this concert including a company-wide walk called “BAY TO BEAKERS” and a day dedicated to volunteering a various charities or organizations.  It was pretty nice.

View of the Main Stage from the Club Level

There were a whole bunch of guesses, many of which were not a bit realistic in my opinion. People started saying Justin Beiber, Lady Gaga, Coldplay, and U2. Sorry, folks, but those were no were in the realm of possibility.

Clear View of San Francisco Bay Behind AT&T Park

In the end, we had 3 acts perform in series…. Natasha Bedingfield kicked it off, and she was actually really good. She has a couple of good songs that I like, and she sounded pretty good live.  Then The Fray followed her up and performed their multiple  hits.  I had already seen them in concert last summer at the Shoreline Amphitheater, and I was a little bummed only because they are a more mellow band.  Anyways, the concert wrapped with Counting Crows headlining. I have to admit that I didn’t stick around to watch them perform. They are a little too old and I’m not as familiar with many of their songs.  For whatever reason, Pdho didn’t take pictures of the actual performers.  I think since we weren’t super into any of the groups, we didn’t really feel like getting right up to the stage.  I really was there though! Hehe!

I Was There!

Overall, it was a very nice day in AT&T Park, and my company did a fantastic job.  Not only were the employees allowed to bring an adult guest, but we also were give 2 child tickets. It was a total family-oriented day filled with unlimited food and drink at the ball park, and if that wasn’t  enough, they gave us free admission to the Giants County Fair that was set up right behind AT&T Park.  Embarrassingly enough, I realized after coming home that they gave me a child wristband, while Pdho and I’m sure the rest of my fellow co-workers got adult wristbands.  Man, do I really look THAT young?

Anyways, I totally didn’t expect all that food and drink, so I came to the concert having eaten lunch earlier at the Farmers Market.  I couldn’t not partake in the free grub, so Pdho and I ended up eating so much that we didn’t even have dinner that night.  One can only imagine what kind of cost the company incurred to throw a celebration like this together.  I definitely think the employees appreciate, but I’m doubtful as to how long we’ll continue to have these special events….. Nevertheless, I’m going to try and enjoy them for as long as I can. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Overworked says:

    you know, cedars no longer has holiday parties. they felt that with the economy the way it is, that it would not be prudent to be throwing such lavash parties. hint hint! so yeah, i agree, enjoy it while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

