Le Pain Quotidien

My brother and sister-in-law live in a nice little neighborhood by the beach.  I haven’t figured out any good nicknames for them yet, so I’ll just go with my sister’s nicknames for them, Root Canal Man, RCM for short, (my brother) and Triple T (my sister-in-law).  We woke up this morning and walked downtown to have some brunch at Le Pain Quotidien.  It’s a nice little bistro-type place.  The brunch menu is not that extensive, but everything looks pretty decent.

Triple T ordered French Toast with Fresh Strawberries.  I actually liked it a lot, because it wasn’t super sweet as french toast can sometimes be.  However, I did find the use of whole grain wheat bread, although different, might have been a little too nutty for my liking.  I think it’s a healthier spin on normally caloric dish.

My brother and I both ordered the Smoked Salmon and Egg Croissant Sandwich.  This probably sounded better than it tasted, not that it was bad, but I think it was a little too dry.  The egg salad mix had little, if any, mayo, so it tasted a little bland and crumbly.  The smoked salmon was nice.  The croissant could have a been a little lighter, flakier and more buttery. Generally, the mix of flavors with the salmon and egg salad went well together though. I just needed some more oil or something to give it a creamier consistency.  Also, considering the $10+ price, I would have expected a little bit more sandwich.

Nevertheless, it was a decent meal, but I’m not sure I would come back mainly because it’s a little too much money for not a lot of good enough tasting food.  It’s a chain, so there are a bunch of locations across the country…. I’m sure the food is basically the same, but I think the ambiance of this Manhattan Beach place, given its central location, is probably what really makes this place special.  Additionally, there is a fair amount of outside seating, and generally speaking, it seems conducive to casual conversations, reading the morning paper, or just enjoying a lazy Sunday hanging out.

Le Pain Quotidien – Manhattan Beach
451 Manhattan Beach Boulevard
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

PAFO Ratings for Le Pain Quotidien – Manhattan Beach:
Price 2½ stars
Ambiance 3½ stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3 stars

One Comment Add yours

  1. Overworked says:

    I think we should call mark, Dog Brain #2

Leave a Reply

