Humphry What?

Humphrey Slocombe

Thanks to TUmmy, I’ve been on this gourmet ice cream kick ever since she took me to Bi-Rite Creamery.  Each time I’ve gone, I bought a couple pints to go, so I’ve managed to make my ice cream last which is great, because it’s amazing how long that stupid line gets especially considering how cold it’s been this summer.  It’s a pain to have to wait in that line.  Anyways, Ecost mentioned Humphry Slocombe to me one time telling me how it’s similar to Bi-Rite Creamery without the long ass wait, so considering it’s really not too far, Pdho and I decided to head on over to the Mission to check it out.  We were cutting it pretty close actually.  Yelpers mentioned that they were pretty strict about closing at 9pm, and it was literally 5 till when we arrived , and the guy was already standing at the end of the line to cut off people.  Fortunately, he was really nice and let me along with a couple of other late stragglers into the queue.

Like Bi-Rite Creamery, they offer a variety of unique flavors that you’re able to sample before making a final decision.  I think Humphry Slocombe rotates flavors on a daily basis, and it also looks like they offer a lot more interesting flavors where they’ve used ingredients that seem kind of odd not only in ice cream but just going together in general.  For example, there is Thai Chili Lime Sorbet McEvoy Olive Oil, Chocolate Smoked Sea Salt and Balsamic Caramel.  I didn’t get a chance to try any of those flavors, because I felt bad holding up the line when they were closing.  I did try Secret Breakfast which is supposed to be one of their more popular flavors.  It’s basically bourbon and cornflakes, and honestly, it was a little too weird.  The bourbon flavor was so strong.   I ended up ordering a pint of Vietnamese Blue Bottle Coffee to take home.  It was absolutely delicious!  Although I’m not much of coffee drinker, I do like coffee-flavored ice cream.  This flavor was unbelievably awesome.  It had a very rich coffee taste without being overpowering, but it was smooth and sweet at the same time.  I highly, highly recommend it especially if you like coffee.  I’m not sure if the name totally makes sense, but it definitely sounds good.

Overall, I think Humphry Slocombe is pretty comparable to Bi-Rite Creamery. It’s hard to say that one is better than the other, because their flavors are different and pretty special in their own way.  The prices are pretty comparable ($3.75 for a single and $7.50 for a pint) , but truth be told, even though Humphrey Slocombe still has a line, it does look like it was shorter than Bi-Rite’s.  I plan on coming back and even though I’ll still probably go home with a pint of Vietnamese Blue Bottle Coffee, I’ll definitely be curious to try some of the other flavors as well.

Humphry Slocombe
2790 Harrison Street
San Francisco, CA 94080

PAFO Ratings for Humphry Slocombe:
Price 1 stars
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

One Comment Add yours

  1. Overworked says:

    my friend just told me about this place! said it was soooo good.

Leave a Reply

