Linguini Marinera a la Moi

I felt inspired one evening, as it happens every once in awhile, and decided to cook dinner.  I know, I know… pick yourselves up off the ground, because it was really just a simple meal.  As some of you may know, I’ve been wanting to cook at home a little bit more.  For whatever reason, it’s just easier to go out to eat especially when I have this list, that grows every week sometimes exponentially, of the places I want to try.  I can’t help it!

Anyways, since I wanted to go pick up some dessert for a friend’s farewell lunch, I had to forgo the gym and head back to the city early to get to Cups and Cakes Bakery before they closed at 6:30pm.  I bought a dozen of their cupcakes including their “Best of the Bay” winning Red Velvet cupcake.  Unfortunately, I ate the mini cupcake one too quick, so I don’t have any pictures, but needless to say, it was a pretty good tasting cupcake.  I’m not the best judge of desserts, because I, fortunately (in my eyes), lack a sweet tooth, but every so often, I do crave a bite of something sweet.  The Red Velvet cupcake is pretty good and worth a try.  I’d be curious to see what others (especially those avid cupcake eaters) think of these in comparison to others.

Anyways, back to my dinner…. since I was home early and at a bit of a loss as to what to do with myself, I decided to go grocery shopping and make dinner.  Needless to say, I ended up spending about $35 on groceries to make some Linguini with Shrimp, Scallops and Clams.  It sounds kind of fancy, but it really wasn’t that hard to put together.

Seafood Pasta

The ingredients were basic:  onions, garlic, tomatoes, tomato paste, clam juice, and fresh basil, for the sauce and a couple pounds of seafood.  I had to be careful not to overcook the shrimp and scallop, but in general, I thought everything came out okay.  The Safeway brand garlic bread really rounded out the meal quite well.  I think the main thing I need to work on is how to add a little bit more kick and flavor to the sauce, because in truth, it just tasted like tomato sauce.  I tried to add some clam juice to give it a little more seafood flavor, but I don’t think it was enough.  I don’t know if I need more herbs or if I should have added some wine. I usually do add some red wine when I make my Bolognese sauce, but I don’t think that fits the flavor profile for a seafood-based sauce.  I think I need some seafood stock of some sort.  Needless to say, it’s something I will work on for my next attempt.

Leave a Reply

