Dessert Truck Really Works

After lunch with Pdho’s old boss in Union Square, we headed downtown to meet up with Ckoh who had lunch on his own unsurprisingly at Xian Famous Foods.  Considering we had just eaten and we weren’t really hungry (at least I wasn’t), I can’t recall what led us to start walking in the direction we were walking.  Ckoh being the good food guide that he is, always has a good list of suggestions that he is always interested in showing us.  Instead of famous sites and tourist attractions, Ckoh always shows us some interesting little bakeries and random eateries all across the city.  It’s actually a lot of fun.  However, as he led Pdho and I further into the depths of the Lower East Side (LES), I kind of questioned whether this place was really worth it.  I seriously felt like we were way the heck in the depths of the LES.  Anyways, when we finally stumbled upon Dessert Truck Works, I had no intention of getting anything to eat.  Yet somehow, after perusing the menu and succumbing to Ckoh’s suggestions, we sat down to try a few desserts.

Brioche Donuts with Nutella

The Brioche Donut Holes came with a choice of Nutella or vanilla cream filling.  We opted for the Nutella and out came a cup filled with 3 big fluffy, yeast-risen balls of dough.  It was lightly sprinkled with sugar on the outside and filled with oozing amounts of Nutella on the inside.  I actually don’t eat Nutella very often, but coincidentally, the last time I had Nutella was in NYC with Ckoh at another dessert truck, the Wafels and Dinges.  The thing with Nutella is that it tastes so darn good, but it’s so darn thick in consistency.  It makes it a little bit difficult to eat sometimes, especially as it starts to cool.  Nevertheless, these donuts as a whole were pretty good.  The doughnut itself was fluffy and not too oily which was good in terms of taste.  I think if it came out piping hot, it would have knocked my socks off.

Warm Chocolate Bread Pudding with Bacon Custard

Even though Ckoh was most excited for us to try the Chocolate Bread Pudding with Bacon Custard, I have to admit that I was a tad bit skeptical.  Not that the idea of bacon custard was unsettling, but I have rarely  been a fan of bread pudding.  Needless to say, I was absolutely taken aback by how good it tasted, and it is pretty rare when a dessert can do that.  The bread pudding was so soft and surprisingly light.  I’m used to bread pudding being very heavy and dense, but each bite of this bread pudding seemed to melt in my mouth.  The bacon-flavored custard was very interesting.  It also was pretty light, but the balance of salt and sweet was equally delicate.  It really worked for me.

Overall, it was more sugar than I was expecting to have, but it was definitely worth the trek to LES and the space it took up in my belly.  Although we visited the bricks and mortar outpost, the Dessert Truck was born as a mobile food truck that still continues to roam the streets of the city.  So let there be hope that you don’t have to make your way down to the LES to check it out.  Just follow them via Twitter and chase them across the city. Hehe!

Dessert Truck Works
6 Clinton St
New York, NY 10002

PAFO Ratings for Dessert Truck Works:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

