Nyonya Better Than This

 

Nyonya

I ate at Nyonya once back when I was living in NYC.  It was more of a small hole in the wall place back then, but I guess success has allowed them to clean up and expand.  As a result, they have moved across the street into a larger space with a clean, more modern look and and feel.  Foodie Film Fellow (as Ckoh shall now be referred to) seemed quite excited to have us check it out (more for Pdho since I had already been), so we met him and his sister, Foodie Film Female, there for lunch.  As usual, Pdho and I were fearful of incurring his wrath if we were late to the restaurant so we ended up arriving earlier than they did.

 

Roti Canai

As to be expected with any Malaysian meal, we started out with the Roti Canai.  The curry sauce was a little bit on the oily side, but it tasted delicious, and the naan was thin and light.  A very solid way to start off the meal.

Princess Bean Curd

Ckoh raved about the Princess Bean Curd, and although I usually trust his taste buds, I admit I had pretty low expectations because of the Princess Tofu I had one time at Layang Layang in San Jose.  Surprisingly, this effort was significantly better.  Not only was the bean curd crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, but the sauce was tremendously much better tasting.  It was flavorful and included a mix of mushrooms, vegetables and chicken.  I agreed with Ckoh that this was one of the better dishes.

 

Hainan Chicken

I really like Hainan Chicken, but I have been unsuccessfully searching around the Bay Area for  a place that makes a very good version of this dish.  The challenge to a well-prepared Hainan Chicken is being able to infuse some good flavor into the chicken while maintaining the moisture of the meat.  The chicken came served with a healthy serving of chicken-flavored rice which went very well with unctuous chicken meat and nicely salted soy sauce-based sauce.  It was definitely one of the better, if not best Hainan Chickens I’ve had in a very long time.

 

Malaysian Style Spareribs

The Malaysian Style Spareribs were just a tad bit dry, but I suppose it is part of the reason why it is served with a sweet and sour-like sauce.  There were marinaded pretty well so there was some good flavor.  I think they just might have been fried a little bit too long so the meat was so dry that it just kept getting stuck in my teeth.

 

Chow Kueh Teow

These noodles weren’t particularly special, but they still tasted very good.  I’m a big fan of rice noodles and these were stir-fried with a mix of sprouts and seafood. I thought it tasted delicious.

 

Kang Kung Belacan

Pdho is a huge fan of these vegetables. In truth, I can’t tell the difference between these vegetables.  They all tasted basically the same, but they don’t exactly look the same. Nevertheless, it tastes good and provides some much needed balance to the meal as a whole.

All in all, it was a great meal… not only because the food was delicious, but the cost was super reasonable.  Considering its Chinatown location, I would be severely irritated by a high price tag, but in spite of the upgrade in location and decor, they maintained the great flavors in the food and very economical price of the menu.  A definite recommendation if you’re in the area and looking for good, filling food.

 

Nyonya
199 Grand St
New York, NY 10013

PAFO Ratings for Nyonya:
Price 2 stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

