Tartine’s Sweets

Tartine Bakery is one of those well-known SF institutions…. so much so that is equally well-known for lines queuing up to get a sampling if its famous Morning Buns.  Even though I had been before, I actually never knew about these Morning Buns.  Finally, it was a rare weekend morning when after waking up, I wasn’t forced to go running.  But that was because we were heading over to brunch at Chez CAsper, so I thought it would be a great idea to head over early to Tartine Bakery to pick up some Morning Buns to bring over.

It was only a little past 9am and there were already people standing alongside the front of the bakery waiting in the gloomy, cold SF weather.  The rest of the stores and restaurants around this area of the Mission were still sleeping, but not surprisingly, it was quite bustling inside.  It’s not very big, and it’s not even very fancy.  In fact, with its simple decor, cramped space and long wooden tables, it actually fits in the Mission and has a subtle homey feel of being a neighborhood morning haunt for the locals.

There are quite a variety of different pastries and sandwiches on the menu, and although my intent was to just get some Morning Buns, I couldn’t help myself and walked out with a slice of Quiche Lorraine as well.  Haha!  Pdho was not amused.

The Morning Bun was essentially the same dough as a croissant but wrapped similar to a cinnamon roll and topped with some sugar, cinnamon and slight orange zest flavor.  It was very good, no doubt, but I couldn’t understand what the line was for.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t get one right out of the oven, but maybe it’s because I don’t full appreciate these sweet pastries.  If I put myself in the shoes of a sweets lover, I probably would rave much more about it, but suffice to say, it’s worth waiting in 20+ minute line at least once.

The quiche slice was huge and with all the egg filling, it turned out to be quite heavy but it was delicious.  Being savory, it was a little bit more like my preferred breakfast food.

All in all, Tartine Bakery‘s Morning Buns were good.  It’s a little bit overpriced, but there is quite a selection of different kinds of pastries that I was curious to try.  I”ll consider returning, but definitely avoiding the line if at all possible.  I don’t think it’s THAT good.

 

Tartine Bakery
600 Guerrero Street
San Francisco, CA 94110

PAFO Ratings for Tartine Bakery:
Price 1½ stars
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

