California Chicken Cafe

My sister first took me to eat at California Chicken Café back when she was in college, and I remember thinking that the Chinese Chicken Salad was one of the best tasting salads I’d ever had.  As I think about what goes into the salad now, I realize it’s not that special.  There is romaine lettuce, chicken, almonds, Chinese noodles, green onions, Mandarin oranges and carrots, and I usually add in some spiral pasta.  I think it’s the addition of the pasta which adds odd but interesting texture to the salad as a whole.  Like with most salads, it’s all about the dressing and I really like the Chinese dressing that they use.  Truth be told, it probably isn’t the most interesting thing I’ve eaten and I don’t have much to say about it, but I like it enough to capture it in my blog.

Chinese Chicken Salad

I’ve gone back a few times over the years since and even though I still like it even though it probably isn’t as delicious as I first thought. Maybe my taste buds have evolved over the years…. Nevertheless, if you’re ever in the LA area, it is a pretty decent salad.

 

California Chicken Cafe
2005 Westwood Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90025

PAFO Ratings for California Chicken Cafe:
Price 1½ stars
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3 stars

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Overworked says:

    They actually changed their dressing every so slightly. I think they cut corners and use cheaper ingredients. The original dressing was much tastier.

    1. Jennee says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised if it has changed….

  2. TE says:

    This place is the most overrated chicken place in SoCal. Zankou blows this place away. I’ll even take Koo Koo Roo because their sides are better as well. True, you can’t get a Chinese Chicken Salad At Zankou, and you did pick the one dish that they do good @ CCC. But Chin Chin and Chinois on Main makes THE BEST Chinese Chicken Salad ever!!! Please try them if you already haven’t. YUM!

    1. Jennee says:

      I haven’t tried any of those places, but I will try to remember them the next time I’m craving chinese chicken salad.

Leave a Reply

