Avenue Q in Another City

I’ve actually seen Avenue Q a couple of times already.  The first time being in New York and a subsequent time in Las Vegas, and I’ve always enjoyed it.  It was coming to San Francisco for a very short 2 week run at the Orpheum Theater, so I was thinking it would be fun to take Pdho to see it.  I really thought it was just the kind of humor he would appreciate.  I was thinking of buying some Balcony seats for a Wednesday evening show, but I was hesitant at first since I didn’t want to miss the Nike Run that evening.  After much debate and procrastination, I was about to pull the trigger when I got an email offering $50 Orchestra and Mezzanine tickets for the 2 Sunday evening shows.  I swooped on the deal immediately and snagged some nice back Orchestra seats for the very last show.

It’s still as funny as I remember it with it’s characteristically 20-something themes about being young, immature, unemployed, lost, poor, single and commitment phobic.  The songs are catchy, and the humor is irreverent.  It really was a very entertaining show.  What I found noticeably different about this show in comparison to others I’ve seen, is how markedly young the theater-goers were which makes total sense given the story, but it was kind of interesting to see.  However, what’s most remarkable about the show and something that was true the previous times that I’ve seen Avenue Q is how “one” the puppeteers become with the puppets, so much so that you totally forget that they are there.  Then, when you think to even look at the actual puppeteers, you see how much their expressions mirror that of the puppets.  It’s really quite well done.

All in all, it was a wonderful way to end the evening.  It’s the small things like taking a train downtown and taking in a show that I really love about living in the city.  It probably sounds insignificant, but it’s just one of those things…. and best of all, I think Pdho enjoyed it which made it definitely worth the excursion.

Leave a Reply

