Town’s End in Color

One of the best brunch places in my neighborhood is definitely Town’s End Restaurant.  It was one of the first places I wrote about after I moved to San Francisco, and considering brunch has never been my favorite meal of the day, I was really happy with the food there.  I’ve come several times since, mainly when friends are in town to visit, but I have never taken pictures of the food.  In the spirit of bringing to life everything I eat, I figured that this meal was worth capturing in pictures.

On this rainy Sunday morning, Pdho and I were supposed to meet up with his friend, DouZen, for dim sum, but he ended up running late so we decided to just head over to Town’s End since it’s right next door to him.  After a little wait, we were seated and ready to eat.  It probably was partly due to the wetness of the weather outside, but in addition to a funny smell in the corner where we were seated, I felt like the interior decor of the restaurant has taken some wear and tear.  The restaurant has never been very big, and they have always crammed as many tables as they could possibly fit into the narrow area, but it seemed like the walls and furniture were a little bit aged.  I think considering how busy this place is, particularly on the weekends, they could stand to upgrade the restaurant.

Their homemade applesauce and fresh-baked muffins and scones are their signature specialty and have been a consistent part of their breakfast spread.  By the time, our breakfast entrees were served, the 3 of us had cleaned off the basket of baked goods and half the jar of applesauce that sits on each table.

Cobb Scramble

I ordered the Cobb Scramble which included 3 eggs scrambled with applewood-smoked bacon, turkey, avocados, tomatoes, green onions and Emmenthaier Swiss cheese.  This restaurant (like many in SF) pride themselves on sourcing locally for their ingredients.  You could really taste the freshness throughout the entire dish.  The potato cake was a little too dry and over fried, but the scrambled eggs were delicious.

Corned Beef Hash

The Corned Beef Hash was served with two poached eggs.  This was quite a heavy dish, because instead of canned corned beef (which in spite of being pretty bad for your heart, is pretty tasty), they used real corned beef.  The beef was very well seasoned and fried up with bell peppers, onions and potatoes.  It was a very good dish, but I really couldn’t eat more than a couple bites without feeling like I was eating more than my allotted calorie intake for the day.

Although Town’s End doesn’t have the same feel as it used to, it’s still a great neighborhood spot that serves delicious food prepared with the freshest of ingredients.  It’s definitely the best place I’ve been to in the area for brunch, and I would easily recommend it for anyone living in South Beach who is too lazy to get into the car on Saturday or Sunday morning.

Town’s End Restaurant
2 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107

PAFO Ratings for Town’s End Restaurant:
Price $$½
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

