Weekend in Miami

View from Fountainbleu Hotel

It doesn’t happen as often these days, but I luckily was able to turn my business trip to Hollywood, FL into an extended weekend trip with some of my girl friends.  Racket flew down to meet up with Pcess, ElleC, and I down in Miami to celebrate Pcess’s birthday.  They all stayed at the Fountainbleu for the weekend, but I joined them for the last day.  Even though I have been to Miami for work before, I never really hung out and got to check out the infamous South Beach scene.  It is a veritable paradise with warm weather and blue water oceans all around.

Pool at Fountainbleu Hotel
ElleC and Racket

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to check out the pool, but it was truly an  amazing looking area.  I was stuck in Hollywood at the Westin Diplomat for most of the time attending my conference, and even though there was an equally picturesque pool area at that hotel, the scene was completely different.  The Westin Diplomat was a beautiful hotel and there was a distinctly more sedate feel.  The target demographic seemed to lean more toward families with children running around all over the place.  It looked like the complete opposite at the Fountainbleu in Miami where the crowd looked much younger, hipper, and flashier.  In fact, I’m not sure I saw any children the entire time I was in Miami.  It’s no wonder that co-workers who were attending my conference still went down to Miami to hang out with other people from my company attending another conference.

One of the highlights of our weekend was going to see Paul Van Dyk at The Mansion.  I’ve never been the hugest fan of trance/house music mostly because it sounds so repetitive after awhile, but Paul Van Dyk is a pretty good DJ with some decent songs…. not that I can remember any of the names of his songs.  Needless to say, I was looking forward to checking it.

Paul Van Dyk

It took awhile before Paul Van Dyk actually came on stage, and seeing that I actually don’t know what he looks like, I couldn’t really tell when it happened…. but it did.  The music got noticeably better.  There is something to be said about trance/house music when it’s been spun by very good DJ.  It still has the characteristic beats playing in a repetitive pattern, but it doesn’t sound as monotonous and is actually much more enjoyable to listen to.

Waiting for Paul Van Dyk
Prelude of Lights

Paul Van Dyk made for a pretty good evening out in Miami.  By the time we left, we were hungry and went in search for some food before heading back to the hotel.

All in all, it was a short but fun weekend in Miami, and although I felt a little bit under-dressed for South Beach, I still had a good time taking it all in.  The fake tans, itty bitty outfits, bling bling accessories, all make for quite the scene even if I felt like a little bit of sore thumb.  It’s a bit sad, but I think I’m just getting old and not hip enough to hang with the cool youngin’s anymore.  It’s okay though.  Really… it is.  Haha!

Leave a Reply

