Thumbs Down for Quidam

Quidam - From the Cirque du Soleil Website

I was debating back and forth for awhile on whether to buy tickets to see Quidam, the Cirque du Soleil show that was coming to town.  I had suspected it was an older show, because it sounded somewhat familiar, but it was the fact that it was playing at the Cow Palace in Daly City that made it more questionable.  The last two traveling Cirque du Soleil shows that have come to town were Kooza and Ovo, both of which set up tent in my backyard, AT&T Park.  The Cow Palace is quite an old venue that generally plays host to monster truck jams and random trinket trunk shows, so it didn’t seem quite as appealing of a place to showcase the awe-inspiring acts of Cirque du Soleil.  With discounts advertised everywhere for the show, I ended up deciding to go after my friend and her husband decided to join Pdho and I for an evening with Quidam.

The Cow Palace was a pretty unimpressive venue, but it was so much larger than the usual Grand Chapeau tent that in spite of discounted tickets, it didn’t look like the seats were anywhere close to being filled to capacity.  The show itself was equally unimpressive.  The acts didn’t appear to create as many breathtaking moments which I have become used to expecting with Cirque du Soleil, and furthermore, I saw a handful of mistakes which NEVER happens, or at least never to the discerning eye.  The acts tended to be less acrobatic and a little bit more artistic or entailed a little bit more body-bending in a ways that made you go “Wow!”  Coincidentally, we were sitting next to a couple who was consistently oohing and aahhing throughout the entire show.  It was a little bit annoying, but we realized this might have been his first ever Cirque du Soleil show. I also felt that there were a little too many clown acts in between, but I did find a few of them to be slightly entertaining.

All in all, it was a rather mediocre performance, and it definitely ranks at the bottom of all the Cirque du Soleil shows I have seen, but I actually enjoyed spending an evening out with my friend and her husband.  After the show, we headed over to the Sunset to have dinner which I think faired much better than the show.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

