Up Close with Janet Jackson

Although I’ve gone to more concerts in the last couple of years than I have in my entire life, I have tended to avoid the huge stadium venues these days.  Not only have ticket prices progressively increased to the point where I think they way excessive, but even at a reasonable price, the seats are so far away from the action, that I might as well be sitting in my living room watching the show for free.  I also think that as I get older, more and more acts that I like are showing up in smaller venues.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m frequenting some no-named lounge in the Castro, but it’s not likely you’ll see me fighting the crowds at the HP Pavilion or Oracle Arena these days.  So when I heard Janet Jackson was bring her Number Ones Up Close and Personal Tour to San Francisco, I corraled a bunch of friends to go.  Many thanks to CynB for allowing me to use her pictures for this entry. =)

Miss Jackson

The whole concept behind the tour was to showcase her 30+ number #1 hits in a more intimate environment allowing her to get “up close and personal” with her fans.  Although I probably shouldn’t have been surprised, the concert was about as stripped down as you could get.  In fact, if it weren’t for Janet Jackson, I really would have thought it was some young new act without the budget to put on a proper concert.  There were no costume changes, fireworks nor special lighting.  There was a simple band and group of less than 10 dancers backing her up.    ElleC described it rather perfectly, “how can Janet spend the least amount of money putting on a tour”… the answer was exactly what turned up at the Bill Graham Civic Center which really isn’t a small venue, but it’s pretty old and somewhat reminiscent of an really old high school auditorium.

Janet and Her Dancers
Janet Pullin' Out the Old Moves

Stripped down set up and lack of ambiance aside, the concert was still quite enjoyable mainly because it was she has such a collection of greatest hits.  Truly, it’s hard for me to think of another artist with such an extensive repertoire of songs that I love.  It brought back a lot of great memories and reminded me of a time that seems not so long ago, but it kind of was.  Hehe!  As I sang along to all her songs, I recognized all the surprisingly familiar dance moves.

All in all, I can’t say it was the best concert I’ve been to, but it definitely was the best set list of songs I’ve heard at any concert.  Hands down!

Leave a Reply

