Japanese Curry in FiDi

Muracci's japanese Curry

I’ve been on a curry kick ever since Pdho told me about eating curry that Douzen had made.  I felt inspired to make curry one weekend which turned out to be quite satisfying even if it was made with those curry cubes.  It was only natural that I would finally give Muracci’s Japanese Curry and Grill a try.  The tiny little curry shop is located in the Financial District, making it a prime lunch destination for those that work in the area.  We decided to head over on the earlier side in hopes of avoiding the lunch time crowd, but when we got there, it looked like the line was starting to come out the door.  Thankfully, because the place was pretty small, the line ended up moving much faster than I expected, and before you knew it, we found 2 seats and were sitting down ready to eat.

Curry Pan

While we waited for our food to come, I decided to order a Beef Curry Pan to munch on.  It was essentially deep-fried bread filled with beef curry inside.  In spite of being deep-fried, the curry pan was surprisingly not too oily, but since it was probably sitting out for a couple of hours, the bread was a little chewy.  It wasn’t horrible though.  The curry filling had some good flavor, but it would have been even better if there was more of it inside.

Chicken Katsu Curry

The Chicken Katsu Curry was a pretty decent sized chicken breast deep-fried in a flaky, crispy coating.  We ordered the curry medium spicy which I think was a good choice, but I might consider going with hot next time.  The curry was a complex mix of spices that really made me realize how pedestrian the flavor from curry-cube curry tastes in comparison.

Tonkatsu

The Tonkatsu came with a salad and miso soup.  I think I preferred the tonkatsu over the chicken katsu, because the pork cutlet was slightly juicier and had a little bit more flavor even though I still ended up eating it with the curry.  I was little surprised that most Yelp reviews seemed to really praise the chicken katsu curry, because I definitely think the tonkatsu is hands down better tasting.

Overall, I was pretty pleased with the food here.  It’s not often that I really eat Japanese curry these days especially since Pdho moved from Cupertino and we no longer have easy access to Curry House.  I really miss it actually.  Nevertheless, I think this little curry shop is pretty decent, and the prices are quite reasonable.  Aside from limited seating (which really isn’t too big of a deal), I suppose my main critique is that their hours are not so ideal, because they only open M-F and they close by 6pm on most days.  This makes it difficult to really eat there or even do take-out which mainly explains why it has taken me this long to be able to find time to even check the place out.  Luckily, it worked out today, but hopefully, it won’t be the only time I get to enjoy the food there.

Muracci’s Japanese Curry
307 Kearny St.
San Francisco, CA 94108

PAFO Ratings for Muracci’s Japanese Curry:
Price 1½ stars
Ambiance 1½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 ½ stars

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

