Okay Crab Cakes

Obrycki's

Somehow I had stumbled upon Obrycki’s during my research of restaurants in Baltimore.  When I last visited Baltimore over 6 years ago, I vividly remember eating the best crab cakes EVER.  To this day, I don’t know if I’ve ever had a better one mainly because other crab cakes have never been made with as much delicious lump crab meat.  In fact, most of crab cakes seem to have more bread crumbs and other superfluous filling, but not here in Baltimore.  Anyways, Obrycki’s came up as a local favorite with a seemingly long history for serving crab and seafood, so I went ahead and made reservations for EC and I for dinner.

I unwittingly ended up walking through some rougher looking areas before reaching the restaurant.  It was kind of warm out, so I decided to walk from the Inner Harbor area to Obrycki’s which was about 1 mile away.  Little did I realize that once I stepped out Inner Harbor, the area quickly went down hill.  Little Italy seemed okay, although noticeably older, but once I continued walking beyond Little Italy, I ended up in the projects.  Although the sun was still out shining brightly, I didn’t feel as worried, but I definitely picked up the pace.  I eventually made it to the restaurant without incident, but word to the wise, the restaurant is not located in the best of neighborhoods.

Now on to the food…..

Loaded Potato Skins

EC and I shared an order of the Loaded Potato Skins which were topped with crab, shrimp, imperial sauce and cheese.  Generally speaking, I don’t like potato skins, but these were quite tasty.  The potatoes itself were a little undercooked, but I really enjoyed the creamy mix of crab and shrimp topping.  In spite of how it looks, it actually didn’t taste very cheesy which I really liked.

 

Fried and Baked Backfin Crab Cakes

Everyone else in the restaurant were bibbed out and digging into a couple dozen blue crabs which were the special for the evening.  These blue crabs were smaller and more commonly found on the East coast (versus the Dungeness crab which I’m more used to eating on the West coast).  EC and I were feeling a little lazy and not really in the mood to get our hands dirty, so we went and ordered a crab cake duo.  The crab cakes were made with lots of jumbo lump and back fin crab meat and one was fried while the other was broiled.  In all honesty, I couldn’t really tell the difference between the two, and overall, I found both of the crab cakes a little bit on the salty side.  They were fine but nothing truly that special.  I think EC would have probably agreed.

All in all, I was unimpressed with the meal especially since it came on the heals of our dinner at Charleston the day before.  The food tasted fine, but I’m thinking that this place was probably known more for the blue crabs since everyone else in the restaurant was eating them and they all looked local.  Nevertheless, even though I enjoyed the large lumps of crab that characterize these Maryland crab cakes, I don’t think it quite satisfied my craving.  The restaurant is quite spacious and really has a seafood shack-like feel.  It definitely isn’t fancy but seems to stand tall as a Baltimore institution with a long history of serving seafood to the locals.

 

Obrycki’s Crab House and Seafood Restaurant
1727 East Pratt St.
Baltimore, MD 21231

PAFO Ratings for Obrycki’s Crab House and Seafood Restaurant:
Price 3 stars
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

