Scoops of Heavenly Gelato

In what seems like a deja vu experience from two years ago, Pdho and I joined Ckoh on one of the pitstops of his LA food tour.  We ended up having dinner at Oo Kook in Koreatown with Ckoh’s friends and Pdho’s cousin.  It was a very good dinner, but considering it was all you can eat Korean BBQ, it’s probably safe to say that the pictures would have looked just like any other Korean BBQ anyways.  Even though I don’t know that many places in Koreatown, I definitely recommend this place for some tasty Korean BBQ.  The meat is pretty good quality, the ban chan is plentiful, and the serve the rice paper rolls.  What more can you ask for!

Afterwards, we headed over to get some dessert at Scoops which has been a longtime favorite hangout for Ckoh, and I have to say that I have never been disappointed when I have come.  The gelato flavors are extremely unique and fantastically delicious.  This time around, Pdho and I got a scoop of Caramel Toffee and Pink Grapefruit Riesling Mango.

 

Caramel Toffee & Pink Grapefrui Riesling Mango

Although I expected to be enjoy the Caramel Toffee, I have to say that the taste was definitely more interesting than other similar flavors.  The gelato had a nice rich and creamy caramel base with little bits of tasty toffee.

The Pink Grapefruit Riesling Mango was truly rock star though.  I’ve never had such a pleasant and refreshing mix of flavors.  You could taste a little bit of each ingredient in each bite.  It was fruity without being too sweet.  Just how I like my desserts.

I have yet to try the Brown Bread, which seems to be one of the most popular flavors.  They seem to run out well before the end of the day.  In fact, by the time evening rolls around which is when we seem to stroll on in, the selection becomes severely limited.  Nevertheless, it doesn’t seem like you can really go wrong with any of the flavors.  Overall, this place is a definite winner, and I highly recommend it for some very unique flavors of gelato.

 

Scoops
712 North Heliotrope Dr.
Los Angeles, CA 90029

PAFO Ratings for Scoops:
Price $
Ambiance 1½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 4½ stars

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Overworked says:

    i strongly disagree with your recommendation. i think scoops is HIGHLY overrated. the texture is waaay too soft and melts right away so if you don’t inhale your portion like a fat american, you’ll be left with a puddle. brown bread is sooo WHATEVER. all the little “brown bread” bits taste hard and stale and they get stuck in your teeth. i give it to them for “interesting” flavors, but they gotta work on a formula thats not so darn soft and melty.

    1. Jennee says:

      I give you that… the texture is not as firm as most other gelatos, but I think the unique flavor combinations are fantastic. Taste-wise, I think he does a good job!

Leave a Reply

