Opening the Door Again

Out the Door in Westfield Center is actually one of the few places that I go to regularly, pretty much once a week.  Granted, I usually order the Spring Rolls and almost always take it to go, but at one point, there was a worker there that recognized Pdho and I.  We always stop by after our weekly Nike run, so we’re always dressed in our running clothes.  Even though I’ve eaten there before, I’ve actually never really taken pictures of the food.  I wouldn’t mind eating there more often, but my biggest complaint is that the food, although very delicious, is rather overpriced, so it feels very wrong paying so much for Vietnamese food.  Anyways, since it had been awhile since I had eaten a real meal there, I convinced Pdho to go there for dinner.

 

Garlic Shanghai Noodles with Wild Louisiana Shrimp

I seem to be on a bit of a garlic noodle kick lately, so when I saw the recent addition of Shanghai Noodles to the menu, I had to order them.  This dish was similar to the Egg Noodles with Shrimp dish which it looked like it replaced on the menu, but I definitely liked these noodles better.  I like the firmness of the noodles and the tasty garlic flavor was distinct yet very refined.  The garlic taste wasn’t too overpowering.  Unfortunately, I only wish there was more of it.  The serving portion was kind of pitiful.

 

Salt & Pepper Fried Squid

This dish was not at all what I expected.  I thought the squid was going to be coated in a batter of some sort and dry-fried.  Instead of a Chinese slant, this dish seemed to lean more Thai with its spicy chilis and sweet pineapples and bell peppers.  In all honesty, I really didn’t enjoy this dish very much.  Not only was the squid far and few between, but the dish seemed like a jumble of random flavors.

Although the dishes were 50/50 tonight, I still feel pretty confident about the food at Out the Door.  I just really wish it wasn’t so expensive for what you get.  It would make me feel a lot better about eating there if it didn’t cost so much and the portions weren’t so pitily.  However, I have to admit that even though the Spring rolls are almost $10, it still doesn’t stop me from ordering them every week after my run.  I can’t help it. I really like the freshness of the ingredients in the roll and the peanut sauce is just perfect.  So all in all, if you don’t mind spending a little bit more, I would definitely recommend dining at Out the Door.

 

Out the Door
865 Market St.
San Francisco, CA 94103

PAFO Ratings for Out the Door:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

