Katsu Curry from JapaCurry

JapaCurry Truck

Although I have heard of the JapaCurry truck roaming around the Financial District, I have to admit that I didn’t think it was worth chasing down until Douzen tried it and gave it a thumbs up.  His friend had also tried Marucci and said that the curry from the truck tasted better.  This definitely piqued my interest, so Pdho and I decided to make our way over one fine sunny day for lunch.

By the time we reached the JapaCurry truck, it was past 1pm, so there wasn’t really a line, but a lot of the items on the menu were sold out.  Thankfully, the Tonkatsu Curry was still available so we decided to order it to share.

 

Katsu Curry

The curry was quite delicious.  I’m starting to appreciate the complexity of different spices that is usually infused into Japanese curries.  With each curry I’ve had lately, I notice that the more depth of flavor I can taste in the curry, the more pleasing it is to my palate.  What was noticeably different about this curry was it contained onions which I don’t recall in other curries.  I wonder if that was a large part of the difference in taste.  I really enjoyed it.

 

Tonkatsu

The tonkatsu was very well made.  The pork meat was tender and tasty, and it wasn’t at all greasy as katsu’s sometimes can be.  The deep-fried goodness was perfectly matched by the richness of the curry and made for a very delicious meal.

Overall, I thought the food was solid.  I would have to agree with Douzen’s friend that the curry here is a little better than Marucci’s (even though Marucci’s is still quite tasty). The $8 price for curry seems relatively reasonable, and even if I wouldn’t call it a cheap eat, I definitely thing it’s a great meal.  I would love to come back and try it again.

 

PAFO Ratings for Japa Curry Truck:
Price $½
Ambiance N/A
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

