Dim Sum at Saigon Seafood Harbor

Once again, we ventured across the bridge to meet up with MC Golfer for dim sum at Saigon Seafood Harbor in Richmond.  MC Golfer really deluges compliments upon all food served at this establishment, so after enjoying a bountiful feast for dinner a couple of weeks ago, Pdho and I were extremely interested to see if the dim sum would be as good as the dinner.

I’ve mentioned this before with regards to pictures of dim sum.  No matter what dim sum tastes like… good, bad, mediocre…. it all looks pretty much the same.  Granted, maybe it’s because I usually order the same old dishes, but then again, maybe it’s just that the restaurants serve the same old dishes.  According to MC Golfer Saigon Seafood Harbor “cares just a little bit more” and actually serves some unique dishes in addition to the traditional ones.

 

Chicken and Tripe Salad

I wasn’t sure I would like the tripe in this dish, but the crunch of the tripe actually went quite well with the juicy pieces of chicken.  The dressing had a distinct vinegar and soy flavor giving it delightfully tangy taste.

 

Soy Bean Curd

I think MC Golfer really likes this Soy Bean Curd stuff, because he ordered something similar at dinner the last time.  I can’t say I disagree with him though.  The bean curd has an interesting texture kind of like a very thin pasta without the starch-based taste.  It was light yet somehow quite filling.

 

Seaweed and Squid

I thought that the combination of seaweed and squid was quite odd, but individually, they both tasted fine.  The squid was seasoned with the same BBQ seasoning used for the Cha Siu pork sold in Chinese BBQ places.  It seemed odd at first, but it somehow worked. Pdho really liked this dish, much more than I did.

 

Chicken Feet

I don’t eat chicken feet, so I really don’t have much to say about it.

 

Shrimp Cheung Fun

This is probably the only traditional dim sum dish we ordered today.  Although it tasted pretty much the same as most other good Shrimp Cheun Fun I’ve had, I definitely could detect the subtle differences that made this Shrimp Cheung Fun just a little bit better in terms of quality.  The shrimp was fresh, plump and juicy, and the rice roll wrapping was thin without being gooey.

 

Scallop Dumpling

You could see the same care and quality in all the dumplings we ordered.  They were all filled with fresh ingredients like the scallop in the dumplings above, and the skin was just thick enough to keep the filling together without being too chewy.

 

Shrimp Dumpling
Pork Dumpling

These weren’t the traditional Ha Gow and Siu Mai dumplings, but they were still quite good.  I have to admit that I would have liked to try the basic dumplings just so I could have a better point of comparison.

 

Bean Curd Roll

I don’t remember too much about this one, but it was pretty much like any other bean curd roll that I’ve had.  Pretty good.

Beef Meatball

These beef meatballs were surprisingly quite tasty.  It is really just a meatball and not all that special, but somehow it tasted like they used real meat.  It was rich and savory, and I kept going back for more.

 

Fried Pork Ball

I didn’t try this, but Pdho seemed to enjoy it.  Then again, he always loves these deep-fried dough type bites.

 

Steamed Pork Bun

Being the other most traditional dim sum dish we ordered, I have to say that these Steamed Pork Buns were pretty comparable to other ones I have had before.  Very solid and quite filling.

 

Pan Fried Sticky Rice

I really liked the uniqueness of this dish.  Instead of the traditional preparation of sticky rice wrapped in banana leaves, they took that same rice and pan-fried it.  It reminded me a lot of the Vietnamese Mung Bean cake that I enjoy eating fried as well.  This had the similar sticky rice consistency on the inside contrasted nicely with the crispness on the outside.

 

Lobster Noodles

This was my favorite dish, albeit it probably isn’t really fair to consider it a dim sum dish.  The Lobster Noodles were tasty.  I love the e-fun noodles used in this dish.  It’s soft yet slightly chewy and seems to soak up the garlicy flavors and lobster juices so well.  Yummy, yummy, I kept putting more in my tummy!

 

Taro Ball
Egg Yolk Bun
Mango Mochi

Suffice it to say, the desserts were quite good. None of them were particularly sweet which I really appreciated it, but I think I was also too full by this point that I can’t really even recall much about all of them.  The Taro Bun was probably my favorite of the three though.  Pdho mentioned that it reminded him of the Milk Buns that my sister loves from Sea Harbor in Rosemead, and I would agree.  They taste best warm so with one bite, the creamy taro filling just oozes into your mouth.  Delectable!

Overall, I would definitely say that trip to East Bay was well worth it.  The dim sum selection includes the traditional favorites as well as some rarer dishes that you don’t always find in other restaurants, but what really stands out with the food here is how apparent the fresh ingredients and quality of preparation that goes into all the food.  I definitely agree with MC Golfer.  The food is good here, and I look forward to coming back.  Now the key will be convincing others to join us. 🙂

 

Saigon Seafood Harbor
3150 Pierce St.
Richmond, CA 94804

PAFO Ratings for Saigon Seafood Harbor:
Price $$$
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 4 stars

One Comment Add yours

  1. huechi says:

    Hi 🙂 Is it okay if link the Facebook page for Saigon Seafood Harbor in the East Bay to your blog? The pictures are beautifully taken.

Leave a Reply

