Cupcakes Made Famous by Carrie

Magnolia Bakery

I have to admit that I often frequent Magnolia Bakery when I visit NYC, and it isn’t necessarily because I think it’s great, but I always seem to be within walking distance of one of its many locations.  Granted, the long lines at the West Village location are rather annoying, and it’s not like the other locations are that much better, but the cupcakes are decent.  I can’t stand how Sex and the City made this cupcake shop so popular, but I guess I can’t blame anyone.  I mean here I am giving them the honor of my patronage.  Nevertheless, when I’m hankering for something sweet, it still amazingly hits the spot.

Enjoying my cupcake

After the Zarkana show, I was in the mood to snack on something, so with Magnolia Bakery being so close by, we decided to stop by and pick up a cupcake.  As usual, the place was crowded but not annoyingly so, so the line went by pretty quickly.

Magic Cookie Bar

Pdho wanted a Magic Cookie Bar which I have never had before.  It was made with graham cracker crust and filled with chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut.  I swear that sometimes I feel Pdho gets things with coconut to “baby proof” them from me.  He always buys these quarts of coconut ice cream and eats it all himself. Anyways… I digress.

Vanilla Cupcake

I went for my usual… plain old vanilla cupcake with vanilla buttercream.  It tasted just the same as it always does. The frosting was quite sweet, so I scooped off half of it, but it hit the spot.

Filled with crowds of people

All in all, I hate giving in to the hype and handing over my $2.75 for these cupcakes, but they really aren’t bad at all.  They are nice little treats to satisfy the sweet tooth, and truth be told, I think they are much better priced than the other trendy cupcake shops (i.e. Sprinkles, etc) that have become popular.

Magnolia Bakery
1240 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020

PAFO Ratings for Magnolia Bakery:
Price $
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

One Comment Add yours

  1. Docndo says:

    I wonder if the next generation of Type II diabetic women can sue Sex and the City for brain washing them to eat all these ridiculously sugar packed cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

